Blog #94: Is It Fact or Bluff? Eating Peanuts Makes Us Intelligent | Let's Check This Out

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

Hey Hivers!

This morning a peanut vendor passed by in our house with 2 pails of peanuts he carried. I heard him as he shouted "peanut". I ran quickly and called the peanut vendor since I love eating peanuts. While eating this brain's food I remember my childhood days.

When I was a kid, my bestfriend's grandma always told us to eat a lot of peanuts because it can make us intelligent. We could not validate her statement at that time because we were just a child. Whatever the elders tell us, we always put it in mind that it was all true. We believed her, in fact, I always grabbed lots of peanuts from my mother's peanut storage (my mother sells that food back then so she had a big container full of it).

But now as a grown up, her statement drove me to read articles so that I can validate the truthfullness of her claim. So, in this blog I will be sharing to you if my bestfriend grandmother's statement is fact or bluff. Let's check this out.

inbound5803839040890525689.webp

Research from the University of South Australia shows that eating 2~3 oz of peanuts per day improves cognitive function and blood circulation in the brain. After 12 weeks, participants improved their short term memory, their ability to process and respond to new information, and their brains ability to correct and retrieve words. This study, published in the journal nutritional neuroscience, shows that when it comes to keeping your mind sharp, peanuts may hold the key.

Reference:

Brain Food

inbound8501086457345804677.webp

Maybe what my bestfriend's grandma wanted to tell us was eating peanuts will help enhance our memory and will help our mind become active. As a student, we need to improve our memory so we can easily remember our lessons in the past and we can quickly remember the things that our teachers taught us.

It will not make us intelligent but it helps the brain to function well. It helps the brain becomes active because of the compound present in the peanut such as 1.) resveratol which increases brain flow and it will help improve the cognitive abilities of a person; and 2.) the niacin & vitamin E which protect against memory loss of a person especially when a person gets old. Being active and being intelligent is different. According to English dictionary, when a person is intelligent, he or she has the ability to quickly understand, learn, discover, solve and respond the difficult and complicated things and when the person is mentally active, his or her mind keeps working and he or she can quickly remember past events or things.

I have never became intelligent and perhaps will never be even I always eat peanuts and can consume a lot of peanuts but I could say that my memory is still sharp. I could still easily remember the past events in my life.

How about you? Do you also love peanut? How often do you eat it? I would appreciate if you will comment down below.

Thank you for reading and see you on my next blog. Cheers!

Discord: kellyane#0924


Some photos were edited using Canva

205704246_497302184716947_9074957943064903968_n.jpg

inbound-1236560438.jpg

Namaste! I am fond of reading books, watching korean, american and filipino series/movies and I am also fond of gardening. I love listening to different life stories and I am always captivated with the beauty of nature so travel is my escape when life turns into blue. But hey, how could I forget my photography hobby? It is one of the best, so follow me as I will be featuring my experiences of the stuff that I am passionate with.

Sort:  

i eat a lot of peanut butter. i buy 10 kgs at a time (in 750 g jars), 100% peanuts, then i mix it 50/50 with raw tahini, add some Himalayan salt, turmeric, freshly ground black pepper and sometimes other herbs/spices like fennugreek, then mix well.

i usually eat this quite healthy nut butter blend spread on home made Limetz sour dough bread or on rice crackers, served with thinly sliced organic cucumber fresh from the garden.

img_0.5979804960434477.jpg

Sometimes i also add peanut butter to raw (well, raw except the peanuts) desserts i make. There is some in the bottom two layers of this dessert

img_0.3682475428411158.jpg

Sat Nam
Atma

Hi @atma.love! I can relate you because I also preferred to eat healthy foods and drink healthy beverages. It seems that you also love eating peanut. So you can tell it by yourself if the peanut can make us intelligent or it's just only a bluff, or it's just only a memory enhancer.

A question to consider is What is intelligence? Most associate intelligence with the brain, yet the gut and the heart have their own "intelligence" which far exceeds that of the brain.

Yeah we mostly consider intellectual when we discuss about intelligence, we forgot the emotional intelligence which is also an important factor that gives us the ability to understand someone's feelings.

Congratulations @kellyane! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

sa college pa ko cge na ko ka dungog ani nga estorya ug ako jud mismo nangunay ug pamatuod og kay lge tapulan ta mag study salig ra tas mani hahaha instead nga excited mo take sa exam nag dali² nuon kog uli na subraan kaon mani nka igit nuon hahaha hagbong wa ka take exam atay mani ray hinungdan! 😄😁😆

Ahak nimu uy perti nakong katawa kadlawng dako, hmm unsa man say imung ma answer kung wala kay sud2x sa klasi wala pay librohay nig adtu skwelahan, unsay pagtuo nimu sa mani kodigo, hahaha