Homemade cough syrup: Eucalyptus, ginger, lemon and honey

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

image.png

Greetings wonderful NM community, how are you? This cold weather in Merida is wreaking havoc. One day it's sunny and then it rains a lot. And that has given me allergies, coughs and discomfort.

So, based on the experience I gained in the chemical/pharmaceutical industry with the preparation of syrups, which was practically honey, 90% sugar and a minimum percentage of medicinal plant extracts, I decided to create my own syrup.

I also have several years studying medicinal plants which is a fascinating world, it is very important to emphasize that the extract that we will use will be for internal use, that is, the alcohol that we will use must be food grade and know its percentage if possible. We use an artisanal alcohol of 30 degrees of alcohol, which is equivalent to 20ml of ethyl alcohol per 100mL of alcohol solution.

Remember that alcohol has part of water, the alcohol solution will be water plus ethanol (ethyl alcohol).

If you are more interested in the subject, let me know in the comment :) it would be a chemical subject.

separador.png

So let's go with the ingredients:
Food grade ethyl alcohol
Dried eucalyptus
Ginger
Lemon
Honey

separador.png

Preparation of the hydroalcoholic extract

In a glass jar put 5 dried eucalyptus leaves, and add the alcohol until it is covered.

image.png

Cover the jar with a plastic lid and reserve as much as you can, for quickness I had 2 days.

image.png

The good thing about eucalyptus is that it quickly transfers its properties to the alcohol.

image.png

separador.png

Preparation of the Syrup

In a glass jar add 50mL of honey and add the juice of half a lemon, mix well.

image.png

Then add the powdered ginger (depending on taste) and shake well.
Finally add 10mL of eucalyptus extract, and shake with a plastic spoon.

image.png

Let it rest and you can reserve it in the pantry.
It is best to keep it in an amber container, otherwise in a glass jar in the dark.

image.png

I made a small amount because the cough goes away quickly :D

separador.png

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
FirmaYC.jpg

Untitled1.jpg

Sort:  

1.png
You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares, and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials, and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Bless up, @justinparke 💚


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

thanks community. I am very happy 💚

Hi kyleana,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks so much

Excellent idea that you share, to make the preparation of a cough syrup.

Thanks Friends 💓

Usually, I just use ginger and lemon. Trying to find eucalyptus for now seems interesting

Thanks for sharing

the eucalyptus has excellent properties, also the white elder. I leave you a post about Eucalyptus https://ecency.com/hive-120078/@kyleana/eucaliptus-spaen

This recipe is worth gold for me, I'm always walking around with an annoying phlegm 😂 sometimes it doesn't even let me sing well hehehehehe

you can also try a white elderberry extract

thanks for this... think I might try it in September; weather sucks out here in New England in the Autumn; she's beautiful, but I have discovered that without an adaptogen, my body doesn't like the rapid and erratic temperathre changes that tend to plague the foliage-turning months.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I understand you. It's the same thing that happens to me in Merida. And it gives me a lot of allergies. it really is horrible

Interesting... so you must be in a similar climate to me, then.

Congratulations @kyleana! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies.
Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
 3 years ago  

Wow! Very cool, from the ingredients I bet this indeed very effective. I never knew you had experience in the pharmaceutical industry. Do you still work with these things?


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yes very effective. What I like is that it's not ridiculously sweet haha. Yes, but on my own. That industry had pharmaceutical products at a natural level, according to Venezuelan law. I learned a few things and then decided to undertake! In college I also started in this and I continue on the same path ... I have a natural products venture here in Venezuela. Haha as I say I am a natural Chemical Engineer 😁 or hippie. When I started in NM I wrote about the first experiences that it was an anesthesia with a clove. Only now I am mom mode and almost everything is cooking 😜, food has helped my baby a lot with his mineral problem, each recipe has a reason, introduce a food, reinforce a vitamin, change a presentation.