Herbalist Diary :: The Medicine of Hawthorn Trees

Few herbs are so steeped in folklore as the Hawthorn. In fact, Hawthorn is only one of the many names for this mythical tree. Also known as Mayflower and Hedgethorn, it was the mythology of this tree that attracted me before I knew of it's medicinal properties.

Both the flowers and the fruits are medicinal and have long histories of use in herbalism. This week, like I have many springs past, I spent each morning hand harvesting the flowering tops - the flowers plus two to three adjacent leaves.

I often read in books that the berry is most sought after for medicine. Personally I prefer the fresh flowers and their tender leaves and include them in many heart-healing tea mixes.

The berries, which ripen in fall, are ideal used in decoctions or tinctures and much care must be made to be sure they are sufficiently dried before storage. For this reason tincturing the berries fresh or making them into jams is a good option. The berries are a subject to be considered in fall. Right here and now, is the Hawthorn flower harvest.

Hawthorn flowers, leaves, and berries are all considered cardiac tonics. When consumed fresh, in jams, or teas, the work on the heart and improve circulation throughout the whole body.

Just after harvesting the flowers in the morning, I lay them out in baskets and over clean cotton so that they dry out completely before being stored in sealed jars or packaged.

Spiritual Medicine:

Hawthorn is recommended to support the emotions during, or after, heartbreak. Even an emotionally trying time can be softened by hawthorn tincture. Living through loss, grief, or prolonged periods of stress take a toll on the physical organs and also the nervous system and spirit which are all so intertwined.

Drinking a calming tea including hawthorn flowers can help take off the edge of living through stress. The act of slowing down, making tea, and then taking time to enjoy it in itself will help relieve tension in the body. And lucky for us there are many herbs besides hawthorn that can help us recover the anxieties of living.

The Folklore of Hawthorn:

This tree and the medicine it has to share has long been associated with the Fae as well as witches good and bad. The diversity of mythology surrounding hawthorn is all over the place and even contrary to one another. Some say that witches are repelled by this tree. Others say that you know you are approaching a good witches' home when you reach the edge of town, pass the hedgerows and cross the border of hawthorn trees.

The Fair Folk, also known as the Fae or Faeries are said to dance around the tree, especially during liminal times and pagan festivals. I haven't yet seen an elemental with my own eyes but I can say that my cats have always had a special relationship with our hawthorns and were with me during the harvests, and even seek out this magical tree on their own.

I wonder what they see when they look into the wild branches of the hawthorn?

Sort:  

Hawthorn is an amazing companion through any heart related ailing.

We also use Hawthorne berries in Chinese Medicine for hypertension and for digesting after a meat heavy meal! Ours is from the Crataegus Pinnatifida variety (Chinese hawthorn/ Mountain hawthorn)

So interesting! I read a bit about the TCM uses of Hawthorn and was very surprised that the berries are helpful in digestion ... it is good to hear you confirm these attributes. Thank you for your wise comment!

Wonderful!
I loved reading through this!
...having heard a bit about hawthorn before, you just aded some more magic to it:)

Thanks so much. I bet you have seen many magical trees in your travels 🌳💚

I did, but I don't know halve as much about them as I would like to!!
💛

never saw a hawthorn.
i read in my fairies book:

It symbolizes hope.
Like all thorn bushes, the hawthorn is a sacred gathering place of the elves.
However, it has the reputation of being unlucky.
farmers from europe smell the plague from the scent of the hawthorn. perhaps for this reason, or from even older memories, it is considered disastrous to bring it into the house.
that's just what i read. i don't know if it's true. but you should always look at both sides of plants, even though i romanticize some plants.
it is a very strong heart tonic.
Blacksmiths liked to use the wood of hawthorn because it burns the hottest.

however, because i have never found it myself, i have not yet studied the legends and mythology of the bush in depth. so this is only superficial information that you should not be irritated by.

it should also be noted that christianity has demonized some plants. so that people no longer dare to deal with them. this means that we no longer know the true kernel, but only the information that christianity has associated on the plant.
my assumption is that plants help us to tread our soul path and the current system prevents this on all levels.

Oh I love the folklore you shared here!! I have also heard that bringing Hawthorn into the house means bad luck (unless it is Beltaine) but, I have broken this rule as I keep dried Hawthorn in my apothecary year round.
And I totally agreee that Christianity has demonized certain plants. I think that is part of why hawthorn is associated with keepinh witches away, when I see witches more as herbalists that practitioners of evil magic.
Thank you for sharing & let me know if you have any faerie books to recomend 💚

Oh, it would be nice to have coffee with you 😊

Aw! 💚☕ thank you for this sweet comment. Having coffee together would be a dream -- I am sure I would learn so much from you!

Congratulations @libra.gardener! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023
HiveFest Meetings Contest