LEMONGRASS GOODNESS (In The Philippines)

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

_B280502_edited_edited.jpg

On a hot sunny day, I like to kill two birds with one stone: I top up my Vitamin D (while protecting my skin) and I always spend a little extra time checking on the herbs in my garden.
One of my fav is the lemongrass. Lemongrass contains substances that can offer pain relief from swelling, reduces fever and helps to overcome common cold and flu. It improves levels of sugar and cholesterol in the blood, and for ladies, it stimulates the uterus and menstrual flow, and helps to reduce menstrual pain.
_B280504_edited_edited 2.jpg
SOME OTHER USES OF LEMONGRASS

NATURAL REMEDIES: Great for planting in gardens close to windows to repel mosquitoes and unwanted insects (an abundance of both here in the fillies) and most tropical places. You have the option of making a natural oil with the lemongrass instead of using artificial or harmful things such as deet. I HATE mosquitoes, yet I'm always indecisive about whether I hate the buzzing sound of a mosquito at my ear, or the bite itself. We always say in Jamaica "if you think you are too small to make an impact, just remember a mosquito. How can something so small cause such distress?

SELF-CARE: Lemongrass is great as a natural hair rinse for washing away excess oil and regulating oily glands, while also acting as a hair protection strengthener - something any hair texture can benefit from especially if your hair is exposed to harsh conditions such as sea, sun or hair colouring. It also gives the hair a fresh clean scent.

I like to make a light mixture of lemongrass water (boiled then cooled) to use on my face as a natural toner. It's effective for reducing oiliness especially around my t-zone area..

FOODIES: Lemongrass is a recipe enhancer that goes well with curries and Asian inspired dishes. I like to stuff it up the backside of my roost chicken adding some garlic and lemon. It's also a great substitute for people who don't like ginger because it's milder. If you would like something tasty and easy, just add some fresh lemongrass to a water pitcher and fill it with slices of cucumber, oranges, apples or any fruit you fancy...a nice way to relax,chill and detox.
P4160590.jpg

I really never considered myself having a green thumb, but here in the Philippines, especially in my rural province, you have to do whatever you can to be as self sustainable as you can...even now more than ever!! Here are some other herbs that I plant in pots. They look beautiful on my balcony, but they thrive better when I move them to another location away from the sea.

Sort:  

You know looking at the first pic you couldn't tell nuhbody seh a nuh yaad yuh deh...

Very valuable info, I had no idea lemon grass could do all that. Nice likkle herb garden man, yeah I can imagine the salt water give the herbs a beating yes.

Go tru mi dear, looking good, like moggle farmer:)

@dmilliz Hehe! Thank you!!!
Bwoy, I tell yu! The place looks just like yaad. Some days I feel like I'm in another parish and have plans in my head to go drive and visit my parents then I come back to the reality that I'm thousands of miles away :(

Yes, you can grow so much in containers. I brought some seeds back from the UK. Somehow my tomatoes didn't do well. But stuff like lettuce, basil, parsley and chili peppers are easy to catch. It's important to get good soil. I used to buy from some vendors on the street but I found that their soil tend to have some weed in it, so I better soil from Tru Value in Cebu City. Also a good idea to empty used tea bags or used ground coffee in the soil as natural fertilizer.

Oh wow,that is a lot of lemongrass. It looks like it is growing well in your garden. So happy to see your post 👍

Ah, thank you! I finally got to submit this post. It's been drafted for a few days and the internet would not comply.

Yes, my lemongrass is in full bloom :)

Your herbs are looking just FINE but yes, those sea breezes can be harsh. We LOVE lemongrass and use it most everyday (it grows like a weed here in Thailand!). You're right, too, about lemongrass making such a lovely rinse for the hair. 😊

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @artemislives) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Thank you! I will join this community. Health & Wellness resonates with me :)
Yes, I got some natural lemongrass hair products made in Thailand before that was amazing:)

Manually curated by goldendawne from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice post. Wondered where all my herbs were coming from 😉

Oh, amazing garden. I wish to grow lemongrass here too. I love your potted herbs, they look gorgeous.

Hello there, lovely to read your post, your herbs looks amazing, i put mine in our windowsill. Btw, you look awesome. Keep it up.

Very interesting facts about lemongrass. I dislike mosquitos too. Bzzzzz🙉

Hello @creativemary! Old post, but I just saw that I never responded then because I was new with insufficient HP 😁
Thank you! Yes, I detest mosquitoes. the worst thing about living in the tropics. I won't miss them when I leave the Philippines :)

Hey! Nobody likes mosquitos so I get you

I just bought lemongrass to grow in my apartment. I hate mosquitos too.

Hello @noopu! Old post, put I just noticed that I never responded due to now HP at the start of my Hive journey 😆
I hope your lemongrass is thriving well, and would like to hear about some of the ways you use it.
I really hate mosquitoes and somehow, some have made their way through my screen which is annoying :(