You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Only Post About Our Happy Moments?

Just now found this post, so apologies for being late to the party. I've absolutely used Hive to write about things that have made me sad, and what never ceases to amaze me were the people who read those posts and said, "Yeah, I know what you're going through. Thanks for putting it into words."

This platform has helped me work through some truly awful things, including the violent and unexpected murder of an old friend. Celebrating his life and relating my good memories of him were vital steps in coming to terms with that loss, and the community delivered in spades.

If anything, I think it's more important to talk about the not-so-happy moments. Not necessarily the "I ordered the burger with no pickles and they TOTALLY put pickles on it, and my day is RUINED!" bits, although those can be amusing, but I mean the heavier things we all question and pretend like we don't. The stuff we truly don't have answers for. The problems we cannot solve.

Telling those stories, talking them out, helps us make sense of senseless things. Hive has been a huge boon to me in this regard. Honestly, I wish we saw more of that.

Sort:  

Hey, late or not thanks for coming ;)

This was such good input you shared. I am so glad to hear that Hive played it’s part in helping you get through such a tough time. So sorry to hear about your friend.

Telling those stories, talking them out, helps us make sense of senseless things.

I so agree with you. I can’t tell you how many times I honestly felt better after sharing a personal story of what I was going through. Not only just sharing it but by receiving the love and support from the platform afterwards it really really helped me.

Thanks so much for leaving your comment and for the tip too. I really appreciate that. Who knows maybe we’ll start to see more of this as people become comfortable with sharing more :)