WHAT IS EATING HEALTHY? My personal experience

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Diet, food pyramid and healthy eating are indeed very personal and different from person to person. I do not believe that one diet fits everyone. Food intolerances and food allergies from an Ayurvedic perspective are intimately connected with our digestive fire (Agni).


I began having digestive issues in my 20s when I moved from Portugal to the Uk. I was introduced to a faster pace of life where eating on the go is a daily reality. I tried convenient meals. Even the healthiest options are not that healthy, and I was exposed to stress. Within a year of living in London, I struggled with gas, stomach pain, indigestion, fatigue and inertia after meals, sluggish, bloated and diarrhoea. My under eyes gone darker, sometimes puffy, acne, and put on 10 kilograms which I did not mind at all as I been judge all my life for being thin. I carried on at the time, thinking that all those symptoms had to do with working long hours until the day I got really sick and ended up in the hospital. This was definitely a wake-up call. I did look for a holistic approach because conventional doctors just give medication. In search of a holistic approach to health, I came across Ayurveda and changed my life for the better.
A few factors that immediately improved my digestion have nothing to do with diet and everything to do with our rituals, habits and behaviour around food:
  • Thoroughly chew the food until it becomes liquid.
  • Engage the five senses when eating.
  • Eat-in a calm environment free from tv, radio or other stimulants.
  • Before eating, find our centre, cleanse our energy field. I use to arrive home and eat, then with Ayurveda, I would get home, have a shower or bath to wash the day away from my mind and centre myself then eat.
  • Being as present as I can when cooking and eating. To avoid eating my worries, stress and concerns. In Ayurveda, the energy of the person cooking the food can either add nourishing vibes to the food or poison vibes. When I was introduced to this concept, I was very sceptical. Still, the years of practising yoga made me very sensitive to subtler energies. Right now, I agree to a certain extent.
  • Before eating, thank and bless the meal.
  • Sit down when eating.
  • It around the same time every day. The body likes consistency.
  • Ditch all stimulants: caffeine, chocolate, processed sugar, alcohol.

My diet is plant-based and mostly sattvic, home-cooked. I only eat food cooked by me my partner or grandmother. I don’t eat out. I don’t buy ready meals or any sort of pre-packed, processed foods. I buy the bulk of the foods locally and in season. I avoid supermarkets and purchase in farmers market because it is the freshest produce we can get unless we grow our own and support the local community. I also don’t snack between meals. I eat 3 big meals during the day with at least 4 to 6 hours in between meals. Of course, this won’t suit everyone. I do this because I have a tendency to binge eat, eat when I am not hungry and eat to cover up difficult emotions. This kind of habit really suppresses my ability to digest life.
Foods considered healthy that I don’t eat: garlic, onions and leeks, and nightshades vegetables.

pyramid.png

My pyramid food is heavily ayurvedic. As you all can tell, it consists of 60% augmenting foods and 40% of extractive foods and healthy fat sources.

Augmenting foods are sweeter in taste, dense and heavy, like grains and starchy vegetable.
Extractive foods are bitter or astringent in taste, light and rough like greens such as kale, spinach, or legumes.


Examples of augmenting sattvic foods:

Grains: barley, buckwheat, millet, quinoa, rice, rye, oats, wheat.
Veggie: beets, carrots, cucumber, fennel root, parsnips, turnips, squash, yams, sweet potato, zucchini.
Fruit: Apples, apricots, bananas, cherries, cranberries, currants, dates, figs, grapefruit, kiwi, lemon, lime, lychee, mango, melons, nectarines, oranges, papayas, passionfruit, peaches, pears, persimmon, plum, pineapple, pomegranate, prune, raisins, strawberries.

Examples of extractive sattvic foods:

Legumes: adzuki, black-eyed, lentils, chickpeas, mung, split peas, dhal, tofu.
Nuts and seeds: almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, fennel seeds, ginkgo nut, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pistachios, pecans, pine nuts, sesame seeds.
Veggies: asparagus, bamboo shoot, beet greens, bock chop, broccoli, brussels sprouts, burdock root, cabbages, cauliflower, celery, kale, mustard greens, okra, peas, spinach, swiss chard.


What is local for me and a big part of my diet?

Sweet potatoes, yams, squash, carrots, beets, cucumbers, asparagus, leafy greens, zucchini, black-eyed, chickpeas, peas, butter beans, red beans, black beans, local Portuguese rice, wheat, olives, olive oil, lupin beans, greens beans, berries, cherries, lemons, nectarines, apples, pears, grapes, melons, watermelon, strawberries, pumpkins, avocados, chestnuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, persimmon, pomegranate, local herbal teas and fresh herbs( basil, coriander, parsley, oregano, thyme), figs.

What I consume that is imported:

Oats, Indian dried spices, ginger and turmeric, sesame oil, Portuguese bananas from the islands, Tahini, lentils, mung, jasmine and basmati rice, tofu occasionally, dates, Triphala, sesame and mustard seeds.

Eggs, homemade ghee and occasionally fresh cheese, are a part of my diet at the time being. I want to be very clear here: The butter and fresh cheese that we get is from a nearby farm that does not kill or exploit their animals for consumptions. The caws are not raped for dairy productions or killed to feed people. They are part of the family and are part of a biodynamic homestead. They help graze the grass, fertilize the soils, and they are very generous to share their milk with humans when they have. Where I live right now, we have chickens. They live free, and they are the best farmers to keep slugs at bay. There is plenty of eggs on a daily basis, and during times that the female chickens do not sit, there is an abundance of eggs that get shared between everyone who lives here.
Ghee is the fat of choice during autumn and winter. I only have ghee and fresh cheese when I have access to this farm or farms with the same principles and values.

The way I cook changes with the seasons. For example: during autumn and winter, I will cook fruit before eating and drinks more herbal teas and warm water. During spring and summer, I will drink freshly pressed veg and fruit juice and room temperature water. I won’t eat salads or raw foods during the colder months, and during the warmer months, I will.


Cook and eat simply. The less we process, the better it is for our body and mind.


What I gained with eating like this: I feel calmer, more grounded, I have consistent energy throughout the day, I have no gas or bloating, my tummy does not rumble, and somehow the days feel longer. I suppose that might have to do with being more present.
To be very honest, when I am having an off day, I do feel the urge to mess up by visiting a supermarket and buy all the favourite sweet junks. On challenging days I doubt the hard work, I blame my bland diet for keeping me distant from my loved ones, and so on and on.
It is dam hard to follow through and keep on track with this diet as my partner and I are the only one’s from all our family eating like this. We are judged constantly, and no one understands our choices. Anyways somehow feels right to us.

hive footer.png

As usual all Ayurvedic info I learned throughout the journey of healing my own digestion with Hale Pule

Thank you to @naturalmedicine for this awesome challenge
Thank you all for your support
Love, light and blessings
💙💙


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

It's so easy to end up eating on the go in this fast paced world. I love how you've raised an awareness of how you eat and your tendencies towards habits that could be detrimental as well. I think we really need to acknowledge our bad habits in order to find the best practices to avoid them. I'm more of a grazer, so I think I need to prepare better to have healthier smaller options on hand instead of either eating crap or starving myself until the next meal then getting a drop in blood pressure as my reward.

So cute when you say, "I'm more of a grazer." 😍
My sister is the same. She eats smaller amounts and more often, and her handbag is always well stocked up with snacks. It becomes harder to keep up with healthy options unless very organized. Starving yourself is not a good thing not only because of the drop in blood pressure but also because of the belief that gets ingrained, such as I am starving better not eat than eat crap. This can create a sense of feeling deprived and also guilt around the all healthy and not healthy eating habits. What my sister does is an 80/20% ratio of 80% of her daily food is healthy, and 20% is all her favourites, some that are less healthy, we both have a sweet tooth.

 3 years ago  

This can create a sense of feeling deprived and also guilt around the all healthy and not healthy eating habits.

Thank you for pointing that out, that's certainly something to bear in mind. We can develop some real psychological issues around food and not even realise it.

Hopefully not :D! I mentioned it because I struggled with it myself. As you never encountered most likely, you won't. Sending love and support 🙏

I think the point you made about your mental state while eating is often overlooked and so important. Thanks for bringing that to attention. Also, fully agree with you on eliminating as much processed food as possible.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you @soulturtle For your words and support! Really means a lot, and is really cool when others understand our points of view. Sending you love

I hope you are successful in your efforts. Thank you for sharing this process. I feel it's important to communicate this because it gives people options in their own decision process. Upvoted and promoted.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you @scholaris.lotus for your support. Your words are comforting. much love


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

That's very interesting, thank you for sharing!
I heard a lot about Aryuvedic diet, but never really looked into it.
Diet is such a big topic nowadays and everyone thinks they know exactly what is good and right ^^ It's great that you two keep eating what you feel is good for you, no matter what other people say. But I can imagine how hard that can be sometimes.

Me and my partner just started our very first gardening project and planted a lot of veggies. I'm so looking forward to harvesting my own food, grown organically and with a lot of love!

100% agree with you, diet is a very saturated topic and there is a lot of bullying masses of people trying to persuade onto other their perfect diet.
Wow @anafae I am so happy to hear that you are beginning the journey of growing your own food, makes me truly happy seeing every day more and more people doing it as I believe is sustainable and better for the environment than these big industrial farms. I cannot wait to start my own once find home. I am looking forward to some blog post about your garden :D

 3 years ago  

No judgement here, except for the GOOD kind. Sounds like ayurveda came when you needed it most. Its certainly a wonderful guide for conscious consumption. You sound likr you are very conscious of WHY you might want to make bad choices and thats half the battle sometimes.

Im all for ethical animal products. Its when we slaughter needlessly and without honouring their lives that its a problem. I keep chickens and bees, and they are honoured and loved. I dont LIKE milk or ghee .. i just don't like the taste, which is why I struggle with that aspect of ayurveda. I tend to substitute coconut oil instead.

Fantastic post!!!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you for your support. Your words really nourished me and meant the world to me! Honestly, when I was writing this post, many fears of being judged negatively by the community surfaced. It is a very personal topic, and being 100% honest and transparent makes me feel vulnerable about not being vegan. I tried for a few years, and it did not work for me. So I began to introduce certain things back and take the same approach as you. I honour and love them! 🙌

I congratulate you on your effort to improve your diet for your health. I liked being relaxed and eating quietly, sometimes we are so busy that we do not give importance to those details, in my house I try to serve everyone and sit at the table to enjoy together and talk


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io