Tuesday April 6th, 2021: Some Things Matter

What a morning!

I stayed up today to get some things done. After yesterday's sleep, I was well rested and energized. I did still get good sleep today too, making just enough time for supper with Melissa before work.

Lemme take a moment to dote on my wife y'all. Fellas, be jealous, ladies, take notes. Her commitment to our family has exploded here lately. Not that she wasn't committed or dedicated before, of course, that's never been a question. But her hard work and drive and consistency lately has just blown me away. Speaking on the sustainability of our lifestyle, her newfound desire to grow our food and direct my actions thereto, her dedication and embracing of us raising our children on our terms and in accord with our culture. Her intentionality is astounding, and I can't get enough of this woman. Wow.

IMG_20210406_093536075.jpg
Blue tortoise shell rabbit

That said, I'm getting a late start tonight. Been reading scripture and discussing doctrines with the bois. It's nearly 4, and I usually like to have my posts done by 3ish. But that's okay, some things matter.

That's been a theme for me lately; some things matter. When my routines are nudged, or my limits are pushed, I have to remind myself that some things require me to bend. Some things matter enough to lose some sleep. Some things matter enough to get hurt. Some things are worth the struggle.

IMG_20210406_095642223.jpg
Strong tomato roots

This morning though was no struggle. We planted some tomatoes, cleared some garden spots, turned the compost, patted the buns, talked with the kids, ate breakfast together, and did some other stuff I'm not remembering. It was grand.

IMG_20210406_102253364.jpg
Experimental 'maters

We only planted four tomatoes at this time to gauge the chickens' interest in them. If I get home in to morning and they're decimated, we'll have to reconsider some things and maybe put some chicken wire around the tomato cages. But I'm praying that's not an issue because I don't want to work that hard. But some things matter, no? 😉

I got to spend some time holding my new favorite rabbit (at the top of this post). Her coloration is, I think, what is called blue tortoise shell. It's really insanely pretty, and I'm hoping like mad that she's a girl. Either way, we'll benefit, but if she's a girl, we can breed for that color. I want a lot of that color in my blanket. If each of the four pregnant does throws six kits (they'll likely throw more), and all survive, we'll have enough furs after the first kitting this fall. Just in time for a new cozy blanket for winter. Sorry if this topic offends anyone, but I'm making the best use of this animal that I can and enjoying this part of its life and how my life intersects with it.

Let's revisit the list for tomorrow:

  1. Assess course of action with seedlings
  2. Dig spots and install timbers for the pig pen
  3. Print something before the weekend
  4. Disassemble shop fan and make a plan for the parts
  5. Rethink the growout cages and maybe make one
  6. Clear more space for taters and corn
  7. Pig gate!
  8. Nettle roots!
  9. Make a cage to transport pigs in the truck

Looks like some things are getting done! I'm sure I'll get sidetracked and make another compost pile or burn some more branches from the trees or something, but that's fine. Some things matter.

Gonna go finish out my day at work now. It's nearly 5AM!

Love from Texas

Nate 💚

Sort:  

Go, Melissa! :))

Re: chickens and tomato plants. Tomatoes are nightshades, their foliage is TOXIC! Potatoes are nightshades, ditto... I've found cages useless here, the plants get so big they break them, yup, bust the welds...

But you planted the tomatoes just when they needed to go in, as the roots appeared. Hope they do real well for you.

So far they seem to have the good sense to leave them alone. And I agree about the cage experience, we had a couple get broken last year! But I'm riding these ones into the ground and then welding them back together 🤣

 3 years ago  

Good luck tomatoes, hope you don't get eaten by chickens.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

So far, so good! Gonna go plant more tomatoes!

You may be all right on the tomato plants... until the tomatoes arrive. lol And, that is a really cool looking bunny. The tortoise ON the HAIR?

Hahahaha I see what you did there! 🤣

It is better if you put up the mosquito net, I think it is better, so that your tomato plants will grow big and far from the reach of the chickens. I like to see your rabbit, the color is very good and beautiful to the eye.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

I always feel so happy that Mel is now on board and embracing the mini smallholding you have. You both seem to be in love and working in beautiful union.

A rabbit blanket will be beautiful, although a cloak with a hood, viking stylie, would be freaking amazing.

Yeah, I've thought the same actually. Taxidermy one of the first with the whole head and ears as part of the hood... I'll be the rabbit shaman 🤣