We Didn't Know It Would Hurt This Much

in Natural Medicine4 years ago
Authored by @riverflows

image.png

Who has been really feeling these last few weeks? Ouch, right? From anxiety and fear, to depression and worry, to being positive and hopeful, many of us are going through pretty wild swings. I keep thinking that this is what meditators are prepared for - an understanding of the flux and flow of our emotions, the knowledge that 'this too will pass' and an ability to sit with what is make this craziness a little easier to handle. Even when I'm at my worst, I can witness my turmoil rather than getting too involved with this chitter chatter of the mind stuff! That helps it past all the easier.

Talking to @trucklife-family on the phone last week reminded me of how important it is to allow all these emotions to be felt and experienced. That doesn't mean we have to act upon them or even wallow in them - it just means we can acknowledge them with as much kindness and compassion as we give the people we love. It's okay to feel the way we're feeling - look at what this world is going through right now! But it's also part of our practice to breath and be with what is, to get out and feel a sense of oneness with nature, and to be very, very careful where we put our attention. If you find your attention returning over and over to things that make you anxious and worried, you might need your practice even more. Where can you put your attention that might make things a little calmer? How much can you control by worrying? Probably not a lot. Best to keep shifting your attention to your breath, again and again, to this moment, right now.

If you're struggling, pop in and see us in The Sanctuary, a channel in our Discord for expressing how you might be feeling right now, so you might more easily let it go - and get a bit of reassurance from others who are more than likely feeling exactly as you are. You are not alone.

BWdivider.png

@porters this week reminds us of how important kindess is. I'm sure you've all turned towards kindness now and away from the bad news that constantly assaults us. I know there is a lot of GOOD in the world. She writes in this post that:

Have you ever notice when you've been kind to someone it makes you feel good? These acts of kindness or altruism will actually promote a chemical reaction in your brain, releasing serotonin, oxytocin, and dopamine. The feel good hormones which work to reinforce positive social behavior, which can lead to a more positive, kinder life.

She then gives us some great tips for engineering kindness into our brains.

image.png

BWdivider.png

I also really related to @ericvancewalton's post here. He writes:

If you’re anything like me at this point your hands are raw from washing them umpteen times a day. You’re also beginning to crave topics of conversation that are about anything other than the damn virus. COVID-19 just happened to strike during the beginning seasonal allergy season in my part of the world so every time I cough or sneeze I think, in the back of my mind...Jesus, do I have it? Do you know what’s even more contagious than COVID-19? Fear and worry. All of us are being bombarded 24/7 by horrific stories and equally horrific theories of how this entire catastrophe may have originated in the mainstream media and on social.It’s absolutely imperative to your physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health to find a way to cleanse yourself from all this toxicity. You can take appropriate measures to limit the amount of news you consume but at the same time you want to stay informed of any new developments. How am I dealing with it?

If you'd like to know how he's dealing with it, go give his post a little love.

BWdivider.png

@sallybeth also let us know about a WORLD MEDITATION event that we're all welcome to join in on. Want to know more? Go read her post here.

@montycashmusic also wrote a BEAUTIFUL post about his observations of nature. Thankyou! May you all get out in nature to be in the now and appreciate this beautiful world we have.

image.png

@artemislives wrote a great post which focussed on CAREMONGERING - all the goodness amongst the terrible things. I'm focussing on caremongering instead of fear - and I hope you guys are too.

This week, and every week, we make one person who is curated above a 5 percent beneficiary on this post. It DOES have to be a delegator, so this week, I'm choosing @porters. She does so much to bring us a #mindfulmonday post each week AND she curates both for Natural Medicine and Mindful Life. Thanks, @porters - your kindness is appreciated.


BWdivider.png

Earn Instantly For Writing Content about Meditation, Mindfulness, Yoga & Spirituality

If you would like to earn LOTUS and HIVE rewards for sharing your natural health content on www.naturalmedicine.io, you can sign up for a free FREE account by emailing [email protected]. Read more about us on our Welcome Page. We support writers sharing about herbalism, TCM, yoga, meditation, vegan and other healthy diets, as well as earth centred practices such as foraging, permaculture and biodynamics.


MINDFULLIFE.png

Please consider delegating to help keep this collective going. For any questions, come ask in our friendly Discord here !

newhearttranssmall.fw.png

Sort:  

Best intro ever and something we can - no doubt - all relate to.
Thanks for yet another curation when we most need it ❤

I was looking for a link to a meditation that I was reminded of while reading this but can't seem to find it, unfortunately.

I'm meditation loads these days, especially guided meditations and it's helping me a lot to deal with these stressful times.

Aw, shucks. Thankyou xx

Aw, shucks. Thankyou xx

I appreciate your creativity, @naturalmedicine
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

We appreciate your love, @amico! xx

meditation is key and your right with all of this we need to just breathe. when I realised I am in control of what I think it changed my whole outlook on life.

It's life changing, isn't it? xxxx And we all breathe together xx

 4 years ago  

Oh! Thanks so much for choosing me to share part of the rewards with! And thank-you for curating my post and these other wonderful posts. I so like it when they are pulled together making it easier to check them out.
Loved the introductory with such a wonderful message reaching out to folks so no one need go through this alone!
Sending much love!

Nope - no one planned for all the empaths to be feeling everyone else's panic, fear and loneliness. I'm beat, everyday. Need another nap. LOL. Lovely curation.

I hear that, dear one. Today I disconnected from mainstream media and it felt better not to worry so much. Took my own advice. But boy, I'm tired too! I must listen to myself and take some naps too! I feel tired just thinking about it! @riverflows.

Thinking about you napping cos I'm feeling tired make me tired again. 🤣 I'm rationing the news time better, and trying to be more useful and creative - it helps. Hugs and planning an early morning walk tomorrow, inspired by you. Too freakin' hot to go out most of the time!! 42C today.