Put the Nettle on...

I have grown up surrounded by Nettles. I remember trying to heal the tingling stings by reaching for the docken leaf, as we called it and singing, "Docken in Docken out, Take the sting of the Nettle out" (perhaps this little ditty inspired my own song writing later on in life). Covered as we regularly were in the little white bumps from being stung because hiding or catching someone in "tig" was way more important, I grew up believing Nettles were something to be avoided.

Nettles abundance.JPG

It's only this week that I considered gathering up some of these gorgeous, vibrant, self assured plants and using them in my home. It seems so strange to me that I have never really known anyone here in Northern Ireland to do this. I know they do of course, but they appear to be the exception. It occurred to me that with the trajectory life seems to be on, being "encouraged" as we are to keep our focus on the treadmill, whole chucks of beautiful, healing, real knowledge could disappear with this generation.

Nettles bag.JPG

So I caught a grip of myself and, encouraged by beautiful life affirming conversations with @clareartista, I picked some full, bright, brimming with confidence Nettles. There were so many I didn't know where to start.

The first place I got stung was my backside, which is hardly surprising. Then my ankles, but I continued on as I was loving the connection with the plants. It was important to me to ask permission and give thanks with each snip. Having read, "The Secret Life of Your Cells", by Robert B Stone many years ago, I knew these beings knew I was there and what I was up to.

I got some strange looks. Some people felt drawn to have a conversation about my antics. Again I find it hard to believe that we have been educated out of knowing the abundance that surrounds us. I hope some of those that passed me might feel inspired to have a go at something similar. This is how it returns. Slowly and simply while smiling.

Nettles single buch.JPG

I fashioned a contraption in my messy shed using some bits and bobs. I feel really proud of myself when I do things like that. It looks ridiculous and wonderful at the same time. I decided it would be too difficult to tie the nettles in bundles with gloves on , so I went about carefully lifting one at a time and setting them gently together.

I didn't notice being stung at the time but for the rest of the day I had a tingling sensation in my thumb and forefinger. It was actually quite pleasant. It's amazing how we can be conditioned to believe a certain sensation is painful.

Nettles all.JPG

Although this process has been lovely in itself I do have some plans for these beauties. Tea and pelvic steaming were my first inclination but since looking into the power of nettles I found I can use them on my hair, to ease flu, chest pains and throat issues, to reduce inflammation, to purge, protect from dark magic and spiritual betrayal and to attune to my inner warrior and protective guides. So not bad for a mornings gathering.

I've never done this before and I don't know what to expect but I have loved reconnecting more deeply with the medicine of Gaia.

Blessings Everyone

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

This is one of my favorite plants, I have been talking with a friend for the possibility of planting this type of medicinal herb to treat different diseases, always with medical recommendation of course. It is true what you say, I am learning just like you, I always talk to them and ask their permission when I am going to pull up even a leaf. It is important to do these things for the good, because they are living beings that have the most important role in the ecosystem. If someone makes fun of this, they can make fun of other serious things, because you have to be very ashamed to listen to people criticize how we treat living beings in general, it's an upside down world hahaha.

Thank you very much for this nice post friend, bless you. :D

Thank you for your wonderful comment. It is indeed an upside down world! Clever Baxter is known for creating the lie detected test but less known is the work he did with plants. It is very clear that these beings have wisdom. I believe its becoming so obvious that soon it will take much effort to deny it.

Thank you again for connecting. Blessings 🙏

Such a great post, @ninasophia !! I didn't know about nettles being protection from dark magic and suchlike: this is beauuutiful, and I'll bring my awareness into that next time I'm steaming! We Live in such potent times, and YES!!!!, recovering our Embodied Wisdom - is there anything else in this Life more Deeply Satisfying?! :-D Blessings and Happy Nettles to you! xxxx

It's such a joy to be on the journey of recovering Embodied Wisdom along side you 🙏

Congratulations @ninasophia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 15