You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sick Dog, Sad Dog

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I could be heading there, Iowa is a much safer state than NY is to be living in.

Some of them did taste good. But it is a good thing Jimmy will eat anything. Of all the veggies I've been giving him, and I'd say half of what he eats right now is veggies, he has left one single sprig of chickweed in his dish.

Sort:  

Wow, can he teach Prince and Bear to expand their palate, or do we just need you to teach me your cooking skills? Bear spits out potatoes and mushrooms, if he accidentally gets them in his mouth (after I dare to sneak them into the mix of rice, chicken, and green beans). He also spits out green beans, and now I feed him outside, he's so messy. The cats were amazing. Years ago we had two ginger toms who liked leftover Dinty Moore beef stew (yeah, I used to buy that stuff), and one brand had peas in it. I'd find the food dish with immaculately clean peas left behind. They licked off every atom of gravy without ingesting anything green. The potatoes and carrots, they tolerated. The gravy! Not a single molecule left behind!
Picky eaters... I've been surrounded by them since I became a mom and a pet owner.
Jimmy's the best. :) And so is his personal chef.

They licked their peas clean! That is really funny!

Jimmy will eat anything right now. Apparently ravenous hunger is a symptom of Cushings. But I put peas in one dish, and they came out whole, so I don't think he can digest those. Which is odd, since so much dog food has pea protein in it. I've heard that's bad, but with this dog, I could actually see it.

Peas, please - "Pass the peas" - sorry, it's a phrase I've heard at the dinner table.
Corn. It passes through a dog and comes out intact.
Birds pass seeds that can germinate and grow. How is this possible? Why do they bother to find and eat seeds if they don't even get digested? What's the point?
How did my mom endure me asking so many questions? Our youngest was especially interrogative, and I can't count the times I've said, "I don't know. You'll have to look it up on the internet."