You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Have Too Many Apples: Experiments with Vinegar

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

The first time I tried making ACV I did it with juice, and that's the one that molded for me - so be careful there, too.
The second time, I did it with scraps, and it turned out great! :) Still have lots as I don't go through it that fast of late. I used to, when I did baking soda shampoo and vinegar conditioner, but I fell off that train due to sheer lack of energy, lol.
Since I am not a big batch maker, I used 3 or 4 quart size Mason jars with the scraps and just stirred them occasionally, and they didn't mold. But I was more attentive to them after the molded juice experience, and I live in a dry climate which helps.
Oh now that I see @goldenoakfarm's comment, I thought I would add: the juice one that molded for me, I had used cheesecloth; the scrap ones? I used paper towels as the tops! LOL. I just tore a square off and held it in place with the Mason jar ring.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Yea I think i'm learning the hard way that scraps might be better -first lot of juice got mould. maybe it woudn't if i strained off all the crud first?

I did mine with juice from a bottle, so I don't know if that helps!