Birthday Bites and Reflections

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)


Hello friends! The weeks just seem to keep getting busier, though at the moment busy is a good thing. When work is busy, it means I'm earning a living and helping people work on their health and fitness goals. Life being busier otherwise is actually quite welcome after this last year of it being, well, not. At least on the social side. Despite being an introvert, I do very much enjoy being with MY people. If anything, the big C has made me cling to that small group even more. Not to brag, but I've got some amazing friends. ;)

In case you didn't guess by the title, I just celebrated a birthday. My belly is quite full of treats that I couldn't help but share, and my heart is even more full with gratitude for the time I've gotten to spend over the last week with friends and family. This time last year we were all at home, missing what we call "birthday season" in my family as almost all of us celebrate our days from February through to May. For a while in the spring, it seems we're getting together every other weekend to enjoy some good food and company. Last year we went without. A small price to pay given the losses others suffered, but it is making the cautious return to small get-togethers that much more precious this year.

My sister hit a milestone birthday last year, so we opted for a re-do this year. Thus the -ish! I ordered a vegan cookie cake from local cookie master Jamie's Cookie Dough to mimic the one I got last year that was divvied up without a proper party. An oatmeal cookie base, vanilla icing and strawberry cookies to garnish. If you didn't know this was vegan, you would not be able to guess from a taste of this truly indulgent treat. A little slice of this goes a long way. Everyone enjoys this treat, so it might just become an annual March birthday tradition. Plus, I am always happy to support a local, female-owned business!

To balance out the sweet, I also brought a new tray of savory nibbles that was an absolute hit. I'm still well on my mushroom kick, so these Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Shiitake Bacon were calling my name when I saw the recipe. For something so simple to make, they tasted fantastic. A perfect bite on their own, but even better with the mustard dressing that went with.

I highly recommend checking out the recipe linked above from Zen & Zaatar. I already sent it to all of my family as they really enjoyed them. My family loves food, but even more so when we get to enjoy it together. I know I'm trying hard not to take this time for granted.


For my own birthday, between clients and friends, I'm still feeling very humbled for all the love and thoughtful gestures received over the last few days. One dear client brought a homemade carrot bread made by his wife for me to enjoy. A gift made from scratch with love and care. Does it get much better?

Another very dear, long-term client and friend insisted on treating for breakfast Friday morning. It's not often a celebratory day falls on our training day, so who am I to decline the offer? I found a spot called Cultivate here in Atlanta where we had never been. Even better--they have tons of vegan options! No small feat for breakfast since most places only have the traditional egg, dairy and meat-laden dishes. I got there early and enjoyed a Chaga latte with oat milk. Then he arrived and we both settled on the vegan hash...

I'm not quite sure my picture does it justice. Another totally loaded bite that gives the traditional a run for the money on taste and satisfaction. I usually save my treats for the sweet side, but I have to say this really hit the spot for a rare savory indulgence. Potatoes, veggies, and all vegan "eggs", sausage and cheeze. We both almost cleared our plate despite being stuffed to the brim. I was worried I might not be able to move while teaching a noon class, but luckily I digested well enough to hit my birthday burpees with the online group!

He also brought me a tray full of plant-based, mostly (if not all) raw, treats from one of our other favorite local spots, Strive. As sweet as the tray was, the time with such a true gem of a friend was even better. We're also celebrating 10 years of working together, making the meal even more of a treat. Very thankful for clients who have become a part of my family and close circle of friends.


Finally, a meal at home on the porch with a few friends Friday evening. We couldn't have asked for better spring grilling weather. The bugs are already coming out, but thank goodness the mosquitoes are still asleep for a few more days, haha! The boyfriend hopped on the grill for the first time in a while to cook up my lentil burgers. Loosely based on this recipe I've shared previously. Though I used the spices more so from my pinkeye pea burgers.

I also made a wheat berry salad with cucumbers, kohlrabi, dried cranberries and spinach. The dijon sauce recipe from the Brussels sprouts above was so good I made a fresh batch for my salad! I've made similar recipes with dijon mustard and tahini before, but I liked the ratios for this one a lot.

I'm a sucker for any grilled veggies, so we did a medley of baby fennel bulbs, red onion, broccolini, and yellow bell peppers in a simple Lambrusco vinegar-based marinade, as well. I can't recall if we've even done any form of broccoli on the grill, but it was delicious! Our friends brought a yummy summer salad to add to the meal, but I don't have a photo since we were too busy eating Friday evening. These were all from our leftovers yesterday.


Though the food is almost gone, the memories will linger. I always get a bit reflective around my birthday, but I think the mixture of this crazy year and coming into the last bit of my 30's has made me even more so. As of right now, I honestly feel better in many ways with each passing birthday. Yes, the body needs a little more upkeep in some ways, but in other ways I feel more and more confident as I navigate life. I know better how I want to spend my time, and with that, who to share it with.

A huge thank you to all who made my day, and ever day, special--thank you from the bottom of my heart. Whether it was just a kind word, a tasty treat or a full meal shared together, it was gratefully received. I'm looking forward to another year of life and all it may bring! 💚

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/birthday-bites-and-reflections/

Sort:  

My mama @buckaroo says happy un-birthday because she missed it! Your treats look yummy. How big is 40ish. My mama is also that old

 3 years ago  

Aww, thank you @buckaroo and for relaying the message @buckaroobaby! Hope all is well in your part of the world!

Yummy! :)

!BEER

 3 years ago  

Cheers babe!

Happy Birthday! Your food and treats from the weekend look AMAZING 😋 Such a lovely and humble read too

 3 years ago  

Thank you @rthelly! Too many good things not to share, especially to remark on the kindness of others. 💚


Hey @plantstoplanks, here is a little bit of BEER from @dksart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Happy birthday Katie, how awesome to get back to seeing friends and family, even if still a tad restrained! Gorrrgeous eats all round, really looks yummy.
Yes, and being busy is goood after life in limbo last year, I'm so glad for you and your clients.🤗

 3 years ago  

Many thanks @lizelle! Such a boon to the soul to spend such much needed time with loved ones. We are in the time of year now where the weather can be downright gorgeous, so it is a great time to be outside with others, anyway! I think I might still be stuffed from all this goodness, but in the best way possible. Hope all is as well as it can be in your world!

The most perfect soul balm for sure!
I do think Spring and Autumn both are the best times of the year, we're just loving this cooler weather after a real hot and humid summer. If only it could stay like this;)
All is well here in my little world thank you.
Isn't it great that Lena is back blogging here again, was such a lovely surprise!
Hope you have a great week Katie🤗

 3 years ago  

Yes! So nice to see her on my feed again. Hope to see more of her around these parts. :)

 3 years ago  

Blessings and happy birthday. How cute you look with that happiness and gratitude, always smiling. And what a delicious dish, gosh, I love vegan cookies, a long time ago I had the blessing of trying some and I thought they were going to be different than the non-vegan ones. But, yes it is different, because it is much more delicious, I loved them. Have a nice week <3

 3 years ago  

Vegan cookies definitely don't miss anything nonvegan ones have! Jamie's cookies are truly fantastic. The family always enjoys when I bring some of her goodies to the table. And thank you much for the birthday blessings! Let's see what another year brings. :)

Happy Birthday!
All of that food looks amazing. That chocolate chip cookie cake sounds incredible. Ice cream and cookies, you cant go wrong with that combination. The apps and salads sound good too. I'll have to try grilling brocolli at some point. I've never done that.

 3 years ago  

Thank you @leaky20! I highly recommend the grilled broccoli. It was delicious! Though there's not many vegetables I don't enjoy grilled. Especially when the boyfriend does the cooking. ;)

Oh my goodness! Happy Birthday Katie!!! What a timing!!! I just returned to Hive wow! also, my older daughter is turning 40ish lol, on May 19th. My BD is May 16th. Anyway, I wish you all the best, lots of success and helath!!!The cake is amzing and so is all the food! What a feast! Chees!!! 🥂😘🌷

 3 years ago  

Thank you Lena! I had forgotten you share a birthday with my mother. And happy day to the boys, too. Lots of fun this time of year!

You are most welcome Katie! It is truly amazing how we are connected even over such a distance. And yes, this is my favorite season and I will be enjoying it. Thank you so much and I wish you the same!

What wonderful birthday memories to make. Especially after the last year. Wishing you a happy, healthy and fun year!

PS - The Husband - I showed him the brussels sprout and mushroom bacon - he's interested 😂🤐

 3 years ago  

Thank you Fiona! Sometimes you have to go through the rough times to appreciate the good ones that much more.

I would love to hear his verdict! Though I have no doubts he would enjoy them as a tasty bite. 🍄

I shall get the recipe from you and report back 😉

Posted using Dapplr

The Brussels sprout and bacon are probably the best invention since butter. True genius! Wow, you guys aren't kidding with the food during festivities. It looked so great cheeeeers

Edit: oh my god I misread the whole post. Not your sisters b'day, but yours! Happy birthday Katie!

 3 years ago  

Haha, no worries Ed. Technically hers was first, then I kind of rambled into my own. That's kind of how this time of year feels--we just roll right from one birthday into the next. Which is why it's tough not to get a little fluffy this time of year, haha! Thank goodness I like to workout!

I second that on the workout! Everyday, no rest day let's gooooo!

Happy birthday 🎉 These dish looks so delicious and lovely photos. Cheers. !wine


Congratulations, @sreypov You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @plantstoplanks.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24816.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

 3 years ago  

Thank you @sreypov! The wishes are much appreciated!

A birthday well spent, happy birthday to you, you had a nice day spending your birthday with family and friends

Your post have been curated by @jizzyjoe, as Hive Celebrates With You on Your Birthday. You can join our curation trail here to celebrate with other hivans on their birthday. To know more please check our Introduction post.

 3 years ago  

Thank you much! And a lovely curation initiative to make us all feel extra special on our day!

You are always welcome, cheers !wine


Congratulations, @jizzyjoe You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @plantstoplanks.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24816.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

 3 years ago (edited) 

What a birthday spread!! Luckily you didn't burst and you'll live to fight another day. Well, since I haven't said it yet....."Bless-ed Earthstrong," I much prefer that to Happy Birthday. Well, I'm sure you'll have no issues exercising all of that away.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io


Congratulations, @justinparke You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINE With @plantstoplanks.
You Earned 0.200 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24816.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

 3 years ago  

I like that, too! Haven't heard that one yet, so thank you for the original blessing. :)

The caption you write the letter good and mean for read.

 3 years ago  

Thank you @phuong.sitha!

I am sorry I missed this post because now I have to say happy belated birthday. But I am really glad I saw this post because I'm drooling over that spread and have been motivated to get of my butt and make dinner. Even though it's almost eleven p.m. haha.

Congratulations @plantstoplanks!

Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post, Carrot Cake W/ Vanilla Frosting, Sourdough's Friend, Birthday Bites, Tulsi Medicine, & Much More!!.

plant_power_2.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io