You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RACING WINTER TO GROW FOOD - MAY GARDEN JOURNAL

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I love seeing your set up! I so agree about the herbs, as well. Lovely to have the flowers and the bees, but when all else fails they give you hope that you can grow something.

I've been wanting to try sweet potatoes in our garden because I do love them so much. The challenge always does end up being the space. I think you've put your outdoor "kitchen" space to good use. I'm sure it's a wonderful learning experience for the little buckaroos to see everything growing!

I'll call @fionasfavourites over here to tell you her experience with a huge difference in germination rates planting with the moon cycles...

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Thank you @plantstoplanks! Of course you also love your herbs. You know we do follow the planting according to the moon. It makes such a difference. But it's more than that. We have really wierd weather patterns. Extreme heat and then cold. Usually our summer is one long HOT but these recent years we have really cold and overcast days. I think it confuses the plants. We've had fruit trees blooming and bearing totally out of season.

 3 years ago  

Oh good! My boyfriend plants things willy billy, so the moon cycles fascinate me since we haven't really paid attention to that yet. 😂

I think you're definitely right with the weather patterns. Really makes it a challenge trying to keep things growing. Makes me appreciate my farmers that much more knowing what a struggle it can be to plan for anything!

Posted using Dapplr