You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Movement As Medicine, Movement As First Aid

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

It really is a tough habit to break! A fellow trainer had shared that research with us all a while back (perhaps there was even a book someone put out with the information in there? I'll have to ask). I think what's even harder to combat is that people tend to expect it, so even if you know better sometimes you offer it to appease someone. I can imagine that is especially so with children. You don't want the parents to think you're not helping if you are a youth athletics coach. Though as Marike pointed out, more often than not the latest recommendations aren't known yet as people don't always take the time to continue to expand their knowledge with the latest updates.

Sort:  

I think you nailed it with expectation and trying to appease someone @plantstoplanks. Ice NUMBS and we tend to think less pain = healing. The studies show this to be NOT true. What surprised me last night the most is I developed a fever - and yes, I am that person propped up in bed at 11pm googling inflammation and fever. It's real and a fascinating healing response to soft tissue trauma. Might try and blog about that too.

Luckily fever is gone today cos going to the shops here with fever in Covid era? 🤣

 4 years ago  

Oh gosh, I can only imagine trying to explain that to the shops. The only place I've been so far where they take temperatures is actually at the farmers market. Seems silly since it is all outdoors, but I think they only do it to give people a sense of security (false or otherwise). I'm sure the fever/inflammation post would be a good one to hit!

 4 years ago  

Do blog about it!! I know fevers are GOOD.. but definitely interested in these readings..

@plantstoplanks They take your fever and track&trace details here to go into a convenience store and even to tank petrol. There's ONE local shop where they know me, and the local market wave me through if I look like I'm in a hurry, which is what I did today. I STILL have fever 36 hours on. Interesting to observe.

 4 years ago  

Some very good points, which make sense. I recently heard that for some injuries they would be better treated with heat, but heat can be detrimental for other injuries, whereas ice isn't going to cause harm on any injury, so that's the better default if you're going to do something.