October Garden Update - Hive Community Garden Journal Challenge...

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Well the outside gardens are getting covered with snow but I have my garlic planted and mulched with a layer of straw to get them through the winter.

Things are much warmer in the indoor garden with herbs, celery, lettuce, aloe vera and cannabis growing under lights in the sunroom.

It's great to have the fresh herbs for cooking plus the celery and lettuce for salads.

JJ the cat, really enjoys the grow room and has made himself a spot on the kneeling pad I left on the bench for him. He doesn't care to go outside for very long anymore with the snow and cooler weather but this works for him as the outdoors indoors!

JJ Sitting by Lemon Thyme, Stevia and Rosemary, Celery Behind

JJ sitting by herbs in sunroom.JPG

JJ Looking at the Lettuce, Herbs and Celery Growing in the Sun room

JJ looking at garden plants in sunroom.JPG

Bruno Looking Out Window JJ Sitting in the Background By Lettuce, Herbs, Celery and Aloe Vera Plants

JJ and Bruno in sunroom.JPG

On the other end of the sun room we have the cannabis plants growing with the last crop harvested and these having just been put under 12 and 12 to get them budding.

Close Up Cannabis Crop Just Beginning to Set Bud

close up cannabis plants.JPG

In my office I set up a grow light for the seedlings as we had a problem with spider mites on the last crop of cannabis and I didn't want the seedlings to get infested. This new crop looks clean so when I pot up my basil and cilantro I'll put them under the ceramic halide lights by the lettuce so they can really take off and I can have my pesto making material!

I have some lettuce seeds starting too which will come under the grow lights soon. The first batch of seed I sowed didn't germinate so I had to reseed. Luckily I had the three big plants of lettuce to supply us with fresh salad makings. I have kale, green onions and rhubarb chard also for salad pickings. They are plants I dug out from the garden before the frost got them. I have them in a separate area of the house so they can be quarantined. I'm happy I did that for the basil and lettuce I bought in from outside had aphids and one basil even had some mealy bugs on it ( I quickly got rid of that plant for I had a terrible time getting them out of the grow area in the sunroom.) I had bought in my container with lemongrass and lemon verbena plus a bit of lemon thyme and it had white flies on it so I harvested some of the lemon verbena and will have to get the yellow sticky cards out to catch those whiteflies. I also have a stevia plant and my lemon tree which I as of yet, have not had any lemons on it. I need to give it better care for I'd really like to be growing my own lemons!

Close Up of Basil and Cilantro Seedlings Under Grow Lights

close up of basil and cilantro seedlings.JPG

Quarantine Area With LED Light Growing Rhubarb Chard, Stevia, Kale, Green Onions, Chives, Lemon Grass, Lemon Verbena and a Lemon Tree

plants under LED in bedroom grow area.JPG

That's a wrap for October!

This is my entry to @simplymike 's Hive Community Garden Journal Challenge Details here

All photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #meditation #mindfulness #yoga & #spirituality content! We also run twice weekly online meditations in our Discord server. Discord II Community

PHC-Footer-05.gif

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

verde 2 profundida.png

Your post is wonderful and that is why it has been manually healed by @auelitairene and mentioned in the diyocoi healing column for the benefit of the Wotüjja indigenous community from @adiwathrive

Our project seeks to motivate our community to develop content in different branches of life. It doesn't matter if you speak English or Spanish, our foundation is based on the principles of balance, harmony and consciousness. Click here if you want to know more here. Our account is supported by @naturalmedicine and @imagenius, so our vote also rewards with and interesting amount of the LOTUS token.

If you want to join our project, delegate to @adiwathrive and receive our support with upvotes, reblogs, mentions and contests where you can win in HIVE and more. To Delegate Here!

We encourage you to use the #adiwa #lotus #naturalmedicine or #adiwathrive tags so we can always marvel at your posts and share them too.

 3 years ago  

I really enjoy seeing your indoor garden each year. :))

 3 years ago  

¡Que hermoso y variado jardín interior tienes! Te felicito por lo bien cuidadas que están tus plantas. Me encanta ver a tus dos mascotas disfrutando de ese espacio. Saludos y bendiciones.


What a beautiful and varied indoor garden you have! I congratulate you on how well cared for your plants are. I love seeing your two pets enjoying that space. Greetings and blessings.

What a wonderful garden! My favorite ones are those that say "meow" and wouf, they look adorable, like saying "hey, what are you looking at me? Don't touch my lettuce!💚

I always love seeing your indoor garden at this time of year. I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @minismallholding) - join our community here.

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

 3 years ago  

Thank-you for including it in the Lotus Garden Newsletter!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @jasonbu on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

 3 years ago  

Thank-you @jasonbu for curating my post!