My Experience Growing Turban Pumpkins

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

image.png

It all started with this pumpkin. It was given to me by a dear friend after he got it as part of a package deal along with his black cat. I had never seen anything like it.

image.png

Since winter was fast approaching, we had the heat on. I used the vents as a dehydrator, setting the pumpkin in front and rotating it so it could dry evenly. I also punctured a hole in the very bottom (where the flower comes from) with a nail. They usually leak water from this hole as they dry.

Once the small pumpkin was completely dry, I shook it to loosen up the seeds and then cut a hole to remove them. Now all I had to do was wait out the long, cold winter.

image.png

I planted 3 seeds with the intention of only planting 2 in the garden but they all sprouted so quickly and vigorously that I decided to keep the lot of them. I may have started them a bit too early, something that happens every spring due to my overexcitement.

image.png

For a few weeks it seemed like they weren't growing. In that time, the roots were probably poking through their biodegradable pots and getting established. So maybe the headstart did help because once temperatures consistently were in the 60s (F), they really kicked off.

Before
image.png

After

IMG_20210711_115644609_HDR.jpg

The 3 plants really took over the garden; there's barely any ground visible anymore. I had heard that for ideal production, vines should be pruned. With some more more research, I found out that the plant will grow a primary vine with secondary vines sprouting from it.

IMG_20210711_115113911.jpg

Secondary vines are good because that means more flowers. You can actually eat the male flowers. We eat them with tortillas de maíz as a special quesadilla. Just add a little bit of tomatillo hot salsa and mmmmmm!
Anyways, don't cut the female flowers! They are the ones with what look like immature fruits at their bases. Those, if pollinated, will indeed become your future pumpkins. Try to encourage rooting at the nodes of your terrestrial vines as this will add strength to the plant.

Screenshot_20210802-160347-880.png

Tertiary vines will develope at the nodes of your secondary vines. Remove these at will, especially if they are near a fruit because they will complete for nutrition.

At first, I was kind of just letting the plants do their own thing but then I started to notice many places where I could print where there was no more space and other areas where I could encourage them to grow more.

IMG_20210730_164236924.jpg

As you can see there is much growing vertically. It saves on space, which I have a small amount of.

IMG_20210730_164154722.jpg

I'm glad the pumpkins are safely hanging from the bedframe trellis.

IMG_20210717_193911496.jpg

Any that grow on the ground, though, should be elevated on a brick or some such. This keeps it safe from excess moisture from the ground which would also attract critters, namely, "slaters".

IMG_20210730_164134636.jpg

I love everything about this pumpkin. The two tones (with a dash of green), the mushroom-like structure that people often describe as "two pumpkins in one".

IMG_20210730_164055864_HDR.jpg

Now it's just a matter of riding out the rest of the season. Don't overwater or your fruits will split! We haven't been getting much rain but the ground does stay moist due to the mulch and cool due to the foliage shading it out.

When it comes to harvest time, I will definitely give one back to my friend. I may eat one, since I've never tried it. The rest will be turned into works of art!

image.png

That's what I made the original into! I guess you can say it was the prototype. Subsequent versions will have different patterns so stay tuned!
Also in the category of artwork, I may carve one for Halloween. I'm excited to get creative for that!

This plant was not hard to grow! I recommend it! Maybe next year I can set up shop at a farmer's market and sell packets of seeds and fresh/decorated pumpkins. I think that would be cool to do but I know nothing about that. I will try to go to more markets and get informed.

Thanks for stopping by my farm! On that note, I think I should go out and water now! Now go on out and get some dirt under your nails! See you all later!

IMG_20210730_164744395_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

Those are certainly odd looking pumpkins! 😀
I might have to try growing a couple of those plants myself next year.

Yes, they are curious aren't they? You should definitely try cultivating these. Spread the word!

 3 years ago  

Oh man, I love everything about this post!!! The pumpkin, the detail, the idea of eating the flowers, your selfie - wow! Totally GORGEOUS. Are they edible, the pumpkins, or just for decoration? What kind are they? I love them!!! I think this year I'm going to aim for another pumpkin jungle - with all different crazy kinds. Why not, right? I must know the name of this one!!!

Thanks! Glad you liked it all!
I just know it as "turban pumpkin/squash". Sorry I don't know the exact variety, if there is one. They are definitely edible though because I remember trying to look up some recipes but then later opting to use it for decoration instead. I might roast one or chop it up and add it to my scramble. You should grow this kind if you can find it! It was a lot of fun!

So weird, I haven' seen or heard of those before. I'm really curious about the taste.
Edit: from Wikipedia

Known in the nineteenth century as "the most beautiful in color, and the most worthless in quality, of all the varieties of squash

Haha! That's funny! It is an oddity. I'm very curious about the taste as well but I will try one soon enough. Some fruits are looking better than others.

You are a bit of a genius, you know that right? It was such an original post, I really looooved it! I might try to grow one of these too!

I knew I was clever, but I didn't know I was a genius! Thanks, I appreciate it!!
And yes! Try growing the turban pumpkin so you can show it off to your friends!

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 49000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP