Are you Using Shampoo Bars Yet? 5 Reasons Why You Should Be

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

I love washing my hair. It smells nice and it feels gooooood. Sure, I can let it go completely natural and not use product at ALL, but that doesn't work for me. I've tried. I did make the switch to natural EVERYTHING a long time ago (to be honestly, I can't recall 'natural' NOT being in my cosmetic vocabulary) -I've been using natural shampoos and conditioners for a long time, because ew - I'm not using anything with potential harmful goo in it - plus, I don't like the unnatural scents of mainstream shampoo brands. As for shampoo bars, I'd been avoiding them. How could a soapy looking bar wash my hair without it becoming a tangled mess? It was tricky not to recall those desperate times where I used actual soap on my hair. However, I decided to take the plunge and very, very quickly have become a convert.

Here's 5 reasons I think you should be too.

Adobe_Post_20200219_1110380.8620761110945797.png

1. Packaging

Unless you've been living in a cave, you'd know that plastic bottles are a horror for the environment. Millions of bottles are bought every minute - something like 20,000 every damn SECOND - and many end up in landfill or in the ocean. Whilst I can't find any data that says how much of this is shampoo and conditioner bottles - or cosmetic bottles per se - they all become part of the swirling horror masses of rubbish in our oceans in some way or another, so the more the world can catch on to avoiding them in the first place, the better.

image.png
Image Source

I WAS solving this issue by going to my wholefoods co-op and simply filling up an old bottle. This worked pretty well and I was feeling pretty good about it. But as the next few reasons will show, making the switch will make you feel even better.

20200216_101338.jpg

2. Cost

Oh my goodness. When I first saw the bars pop up in my local shops I kinda freaked out abit. $20 for a bar? There's no way I could afford that. I pay around $3 for the cheap organic stuff at Coles, or a little bit more for the refillable stuff at Wholefoods. However, what I was missing was that these bars are uber concentrated. No more tipping half a bottle of conditioner on your hair to get a proper lather - a pea sized bit of a shampoo bar will do the job just fine! In fact, one brand I bought claimed that just ONE of their bars was equal to six bottles of shamoo and conditioner. Damn. That's some savings. The best thing to do is to cut off a slice, pop it in a soap tray or a small container in your shower so it doesn't wash away with water and turn to mush, and leave the rest in the cupboard. My Mum and I bought different brands, so we swapped a few slivers so we could try out the different sorts to figure out which was best for our hair.

I bought mine online too, and sometimes you can find discounts or savings that way, or buy in bulk. I now have 6 bars that will most definitely last me for the rest of the year for around $50. Some even have small sample bars you can try out.

3. Travelling

These bars are incredible for travellling. If you're only taking on hand luggage, you don't have to worry about carrying too much liquid, and if you're not, well, you can be guaranteed that it won't leak all over your bag!

If you're anything like me, you won't need to stress about leaving your bottle behind in a hotel room. I've cut my bar into little slivers into a small jar, and the rest of the bars I am storing in my backpack. Each time I use it, I'll only be taking a small amount from my day to day cosmetics bag to the shower, and even if I leave the jar behind, I'll still have the bars in my luggage as back up!

20200219_105447.jpg

Plus, you can also use these bars to wash laundry or use them as soap if you're short on other products - they are even kind enough to wash your face.

4. All Natural Ingredients - No Nasties

Soap bars have a range of good moisturising oils such as coconut, sweet almond oil, grapeseed oil and macadamia. There are no SLS or parabens and often are cruelty free and vegan (although some might contain honey). Like any natural product, do check the ingredients - palm oil can be an issue with some, so make sure it's certified sustainable or doesn't have palm oil at all.

5. Yes, they really work!

I couldn't quite believe how much these foamed and lathered, just as you expect a shampoo to do. They're made with saponified oils - saponification is the the chemical reaction that takes place when you mix oils and water with a strong alkali, like natural potassium hydroxide, under heat.

They left my hair very clean, and even without the conditioner, I simply brushed my hair without much fuss and found my hair was just fine. Some people say there's a little transition period as you get used to it, but I didn't find that at all. Of course, it depends on the product you're using, so a bit of research about the right one for your hair type, co-buying with family or buying sample bars will help you find just the right bar for you.

Some people say it feels like there's a waxy coating to start and I had a jug of apple cider vinegar and water to rinse with just in case, so that's always an option if that happens to you. In fact, I highly recommend a weekly apple cider vinegar rinse anyway - I've done it since Mum used to do it for me as a kid, where I'd sit in the bath sucking the vinegar from my hair!

I have found since using this shampoo, I don't even need to wash my hair every day - every third day seems plenty.

If you care about the environment and desire to get away from synthetic styling products and other unnatural, unhealthy hair care routines, this switch is going to be easier than you think. It's a great leaping off point from considering making your own shampoos or hair treatments too.

Do you use natural shampoo bars? Would you make the switch? What's your hair care routine?

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

Sort:  

Interesting! You should throw out a few names so I can check them out! I would love to make the switch!

 4 years ago  

Where do you live? I bet there are some you can find online near you!!

Thanks! I'll look!

I might find some to try out👍

Posted using Partiko Android

 4 years ago  

I think there is a Tassie company!!!

Hey, thanks!!
I'm going to have to get me some now :D

 4 years ago  

You should. Let me know how you go!

So inspiring to read. I would love to make the switch. I was using shampoo bars from Lush when I was traveling, not sure how natural they are though...I’ll definitely check out what I can find in Germany.

 4 years ago  

I think they are getting a lot more common, and I am sure you can find a European company you can order from online..

Such a simple and practical option!

Apart from palm oils, a LT of the cheaper ones contain toxic GMO soy, canola and sunflower oils - all of them carry heavy levels of pesticides. It MATTERS what type of oils are used.

Yup - GREAT for travel.

What do you condition your hair with after the shampoo? Professional curiosity. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

 4 years ago  

Weirdly, I don't find I NEED to. I did get one combine s/c bar, and a shampoo AND conditioner bar, but the straight shampoo one is fine. I also have been doing a hair mask once a week too (home made) so that's a nice conditioner too..xxx

 4 years ago  

Thankyou @artemislives 💚💚💚

I've never heard of these before, interesting!

Wow! An excellent choice for hair washing. My routine isn't much different than anyone else's, I guess. I use conventional shampoo every three days, although because of the high cost of these, I have resorted to using soap. I haven't done so well using it. I'd have to try other products. Greetings and thank you for telling us about your experience.

Even though I hardly ever wash my hear ( perhaps every 10 days or so ) this sounds like my cup of soapy tea. Besides the fact that most shampoo irritates my head and face ( as does everything unnatural that I apply to hair or skin ), I only wanna use natural products anyway. The packaging thing is an added bonus.

Thanks for sharing this with us and would you mind telling me more on the apple cider vinegar rinse? How does this work?

I've done it since Mum used to do it for me as a kid, where I'd sit in the bath sucking the vinegar from my hair!

This is so cute ( picturing it ) :>)

xx

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment
 4 years ago  

Please don't spam my post.