You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RACING WINTER TO GROW FOOD - MAY GARDEN JOURNAL

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Sorry for the ten photo limit - I mean, some I could excuse but I was getting exhausted scrolling and scrolling and scrolling, and sometimes through blurry photos that looked much the same haha! But these photos are so gorgeous I could have kept scrolling forEVER!

Tell me, when do you harvest turmeric? I put some in a polytunnel last year, and now I'm not sure whether to water them or not all through winter or whether to leave them dry for next year (llike storage). I dont think they're ready yet.

My chickens are assholes at the moment - I got some wyandottes and they love to jump, so I'm busy making fences to keep them in! Grr. I can't even imagine contending with baboons!!!

You had me in the first paragraph - you know how much I love my herbs. I love just walking round the garden and tasting and smelling and putting them in a rack to dry or into vinegar for oxymels. It's such a sensual, tactile thing!

Sort:  

Ummmm...did you skip over the part about me not having green fingers? Tumeric? I don't actually know. I have been severely challenged in growing it - and ginger - all these years. Now for the first time it is actually growing. So my theory is that one of my children has the green fingers. Apparently the plant dies back now, in winter, and doesn't need to be watered. You need to harvest the roots about a year after planting so....

I was just teasing about the 10 photos. I totally understand that some people just post gazillions of random pictures. I always battle with my photos. I have so many to choose from. My problem is filling all the spaces in between with words