You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How My Yoga Roots Eventually Danced to Saraswati's Tune

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

Thanks Chris. I still love Portishead and Massive Attack after all these years. Teardrop is a nice one to move to sometimes too! Just spent 3 months on lockdown in Somerset and was gutted not to be able to revisit Brizzle. Massive Attack crew were quite vocal about their approval of that Colston statue being torn down...

Was gutted to have India trip cut short by pandemic in March.. got out of there just in time. We were in Rishikesh. Was going to return after Europe but will be putting it of for a couple of years now.

Saraswati is huge in Bali. We bought a beautiful print of her.. ill show you when I get.home.. very apt as we are both teachers. Definitely one of the gentler goddesses.. Kali has been messing with me of late!

I was lisyening to krishna bajans yesterday as i practiced. It was solstice but i was stuck on hotel quarantine so I found a live stream of a sunset in Waimea and practiced as the sun went down on the telly. Amazing how you cam make do. Sometimes the little extra tools help you access what you need - sometimes all you need is breath.

Thanks so much for your comment. Xxx Ill come back and give you Engage once i sort out my balance.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply. Less is more everytime... I think I've rarely witnessed such unbridled joyous singing as in a Krishna temple in Rajasthan. Best of luck with getting your balance back. I find meditation upon waking helps me loads. Cheers

 4 years ago  

Yes, it's such a beautiful way to clear the head for the rest of the day.

How joyous kirtan is! It always makes me so emotional when I sing in a group of people - I can only imagine what it would have been like in Rajasthan. We really wanted to go and the virus bloody stopped us.

Yes Rajasthan is truly amazing. One of the first places I went on my first trip to India in 2000. A 3 day camel trek in the desert is a top memory actually. My first interaction with Muslims in India. Beyond that yes a land of palaces, deserts, lakes, wonderful music, camels, Gypsies, Jains and their temples and just magical actually. I remember fondly watching monkeys stealing fruit from vendors in the market in Pushkar while drinking chai wondering how many centuries this daily game has gone on for :) Actually, a good thing you didn't get stuck there in April/May unless you enjoy 50 plus heat in the flatlands ... My friend from Kazakstan was stuck in Varanassi in a bad situation, managed to get to Delhi eventually and finally back to Kazakhstan. He's quite a hard core traveler but we all have our limits...