You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #GARDENJOURNAL *** FIRST WEEK OF AUGUST

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Me! Pick me! I have an idea!!!!

untitled.gif

OREGANO PESTO!!!!! It's awesome too! Great for winter soups etc. And - here's a thought - you can do it with cashews or walnuts or any other nut. Mind blown, right?

I adore pesto - I just put a heap of basil seeds in as I want ALL THE PESTO!

Great post, loved the barn story that went along with this!

Sort:  

oooowee, yes great idea, oregano pesto. Why is that sometimes, my brain should have kicked up that thought a long time ago. I guess I just got stuck on the dehydrator.

Hey @riverflows, how's it going? It's been a busy season here, everything is coming in now, just picked our first red tomato this week. Now I am being intimadated by the amount of green ones still to ripen. All can say is, looks like I will have a full freezer again this year. But oh man, lots of peeling and seeding to do. I better make some fresh bread to clean up the dishes with. hehehe

 3 years ago  

Hahah, my husband with bread and mopping up dinner! I want to get into making sourdough again next year when I have more time.

Yeah sometimes we just don't think sideways with vegetables and dinners. I never forgot the time my friend made tacos with chickpeas and broccoli - my mind was blown as I always thought Mexican was black beans and tomatoes, you know? This made me think pretty out of box for almost everything I did afterwards, and it works. Kale pesto is also awesome!

Sorry won't jump on that kale pesto, don't like kale. You can keep the chick peas also, too dry. Black beans and rice, sooo nice.