Grape Leaves - Natural medicine in the food we eat.

Hi everyone!

My grape vines are growing like crazy this year. They are full of developing bunches of grapes. So so many bunches I wonder if I should remove a few. I know a lot of gardeners who would say clip off 7 out of 10 so the three remaining bunches grow bigger. But I am not going to do that. I am trusting to nature to do what it feels is right. The thought of cutting off bunches is painful to me.
These grapes always have the most incredible flavour. So much deeper and fruitier than grapes ever taste when bought from a store!

EFDC8DD2-0F6D-419D-BA14-DE45AA29032D.jpeg

As well as producing fruit bursting with goodness, did you know that grape leaves are also significantly beneficial for health?

They reduce inflammation and contain omega 3 fatty acids, balance blood sugar levels and improve the digestive process being high in fibre.

The leaves contain zinc which promotes intestinal health and vitamin C which is well known to boost the immune system.

Being a good source of manganese, grape leaves are also valuable to maintain easy moving joints as the manganese is important in the formation of cartilage.

They are also rich in potassium which maintains healthy heart function and calcium - responsible for strong bones and teeth.

They contain copper which is important in the production of collagen which will promote healthy glowing skin along with Vitamin E also present in the leaves! They have magnesium which is a great muscle relaxant.

Is there no end to the benefits? Lol. So we continue……

They contain good amounts of vitamin A, great for the health of your eyes and vitamin B which protects the nervous system.

They contain vitamin B6 which is great for cognitive function and reduces the chance of dementia.

DECD5A06-2073-4B03-8744-E6CC33758F7F.jpeg

How do we incorporate these wonderfully nutritious leaves into our diet then?

Well there are many delicious recipes using them to wrap a multitude of fillings - all sorts, for vegans, vegetarians or meat eaters. The absorb the flavours of whatever you stuff them with. It is best to use young leaves as older ones get tough and stringy. They can be eaten raw so juicing a little amount of young leaves into daily raw juice cocktails can only improve their nutritional content.

Thanks for reading, I hope this was of some use to you.

Wishing you the best day possible!

511AF2EB-67A0-4F77-A532-A85ACA02E6DC.jpeg

Sort:  

Very interesting. These young leaves could be put in some Thai soup!

Yes definately

Oh yes!! With sliced hed hom,ton hom, a little fresh chili, garlic and ginger and some woon sen thrown in at the end. Nice idea.

Hahaha! Now I am hungry! You should not have started to boost my imagination!

I didn't know there we so good for you! Does this also mean wine is as good haha 💯🐒

Oh wine is always good for you 😂😂😂😂

Hahah great to know 💯🐒

Dolmades!! Yay!! I literally have a grape vine taking over my clothes line - it gets too much shade from the mango trees to bear well, so it's just an eternal trimming exercise.

I suddenly have a vision of dolades tomorrow - grape vine leaves rolled around black rice and shitake spiced with cumin. I shall investigate some recipe posts for techniques - it's been EONS since I last cooked proper dolmades.

LOL and NOW I want to go to Greece again!! 😆 To Loutraki and Delfi and Crete. 😍

Stay tuned for me dolmades post. x

Oh yummy I look forward to you doing these.

They image are pretty amazing

Hello @sallybeth23, this is @notconvinced on behalf of Natural Medicine.

I did not know grape leaves were so nutritious. I was thinking about planting some myself and your article helped me to decide. Thanks😀

curation.png

Discord II Community**

Oh wonderful, yes grape vines are rewarding to grow - glad to hear you ar going to get some started.