It has been a rough week with fleas & worms but it ended with a collar and freedom!

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

IMG3267.jpg

For the last 6 weeks she's been stuck in our courtyard learning the smell of her new home, so she was very grateful to be let out last night, right in time for the weekend ;) Today she seems knackered after a night of exploring.

The collar (which is NOT a flea collar because this damages the skin of kittens) has our phone number in it, so I'm sure she will always find her way home one way or another.

For the record, the fleas I treated with coconut oil and the worms I treated with some fresh garlic in her food. The chemical products your vet wants to sell you have been proven to damage the long term health of your pets, which is perfect for their repeat business model. So, just as it is for humans, @naturalmedicine is best!

She fasted for three days too, which was great. In case you don't already know, fasting is the most immediate & simple way to correct imbalances. Animals know this instinctively.

From now on I will be adding a few drops of apple cider vinegar to her water each day which will help maintain a healthy balance and prevent future worm problems.

I also started to look into the pet food industry and I guess you already know what I found? Nothing good! Let's just say the bits that humans don't eat we give to our pets. Which is nuts! If anyone has an idea on what is a realistically achievable & healthy diet for cats I would love to hear about it :)

And in case you were wondering she is mostly being called Cat Cat these days. Which I guess could work as a name? Bit weird. But am glad at least the kids chose it.

IMG3264.jpg

Sort:  

How did you treat the fleas with coconut oil? Just rub some on her? She looks very sweet.
My dog developed this ridiculously bad breath. I'd just successfully treated a cat who had a persistent cold (sneezing, coughing, fasting for weeks) with some mild colloidal silver, so I thought to try it with the dog. Presto! A few drops three times a day, and that bad breath was gone by day three. I don't like to use anything on the animals and to let their immune systems do as much as they can, but once in a while they need a bit of assistance.

I just rubbed it all over her. And washed it off with natural shampoo a few hours later. Saw some more fleas this morning so I guess eggs have hatched now and it is time for second rubbing! Sorry kitty.

Great call with the colloidal silver. Forgot to mention that one. We have a batch which we use for the kids sometimes. Perhaps I should give it to them more regularly? I wonder if it will fix their morning breath???

lol, morning breath in a kid is not so bad, now is it?

silver is very powerful and not to be used willy nilly! I use it very rarely, only if it seems that an antibiotic would be useful, and never for longer than five days at a time. I try other measures first, such as stopping the stupid dog from eating the mice that the cats kill and leave lying around, which he can't find until they are good and smelly. I suspect he has worms or parasites or something. Silver is def not for everyday use. I was surprised, and heartened, by the immediate positive effect on his breath. 6 drops in his water three times a day for five days is the plan. We'll see.

Appreciate the tips. Five days. Noted :)

I always loved their morning breath until recently. I mean obviously I still love it but am conscious of a change which I think relates to diet. Or incorrect teeth brushing? Something just feels out of balance.

Definitely trust your instincts - if you sense something is wrong, something is wrong. I still haven't learned that lesson. More than one kid at the same time too. Diet is always the first place I look for ANYTHING. I'm no expert though!

My dog has completed his five days, appears to feel better, is eating more, and his breath is much better (it was so bad I could smell it as soon as I walked in the house). I'm not sure what to do now, if anything. He is getting old.