Nature's Healing Touch: DIY Anti-Inflammatory Massage Lotion Recipe for Relaxation and Pain Relief

After a hard week of work, I fell asleep with my arms under my head and woke up with a sore shoulder. Despite being a nurse, my preference is to escape to the woods before heading to the hospital. I always give nature a chance to heal me first, and so far, it has never failed me. I feel blessed to have grown up in a family that relies on natural remedies.

So, I visited the nearby woods to pick available wild plants for what I intend to make: a massage lotion with anti-inflammatory and pain-relieving properties. I formulated myself.

A handful of each plant is enough.

First, I picked some cypress leaves, as cypress has anti-inflammatory and anti-spasmodic properties, reducing pain and cramps (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37172917/).


Next, I looked for (horsechestnut) conker nuts, even though they're not in season. Some nuts are still on the ground covered with fallen leaves, half-buried but still fresh and pristine when washed. Conker has aescin, a powerful anti-inflammatory, few studies have showed that the topical application pf ointment containg aescin could reduce the swelling after surgery, sports or trauma. (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/2751881/).

I also picked some blackberry leaves. Although there are only a few surviving in the winter, they are easy enough to gather. Blackberry leaves are believed to have anti-inflammatory properties (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34943048/).

I then gathered some willow bark, which can be found all year round. Willow bark has salicin, which our body converts to salicylic acid, a precursor of aspirin and an anti-inflammatory used to reduce pain. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19140170/

Back home with my wild ingredients:

From the kitchen, I was lucky to have ginger, turmeric, and galangal. Gingerol in ginger is an effective pain reliever, and some clinical trials suggest that oral and topical use of ginger is effective against pain (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32436242/). Curcumin in turmeric has effects similar to NSAIDs (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33500785/). Galangal extracts are clinically effective as a hypoalgesic agent (decreased sensitivity to painful stimuli) according to a systematic review (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25972154/).

Lastly, I added some of the lavender I picked last summer. One study has shown the effectiveness of lavender as an antioxidant, analgesic, and anti-inflammatory (source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26247152/).

I blended all these ingredients in a strong blender. Conker nuts are harder, so I processed them first.

Aloe vera was nearly forgotten, but I sliced off a couple of leaves and blended them with the rest.
Aloe vera is well-known for its multiple benefits, including its anti-inflammatory and soothing effect.

For every cup of the blended mixture, I added 1 cup of coconut oil and 1 cup of almond oil. If you want a creamy texture, you can also add 1 cup of shea butter. Basically, add any oil you prefer in a 1:3 ratio. I always add coconut oil as it is absorbed into the skin better than any other oil.

I froze some of the blended ingredients for later use.

If you don't have an infuser machine, you can use the oven at a very low temperature (below 100 degrees Celsius) and leave it overnight for at least 3 hours. Alternatively, you can use a rice cooker on a warm setting or simply leave it infusing in oil for 3 weeks, shaking it every day.

Once done, strain it through a fine strainer or cloth.

If you choose the creamy version, put it in the freezer for about 30 minutes, then blend it until creamy.

Use a stick blender to achieve a creamy texture. Add peppermint oil and mix.

Transfer the final product into a clean container.

To apply, massage it gently on the problem area and cover the skin warmly. At night, wrap cling film/ plastic wrap on the sore area after application to increase absorption, keeping the skin supple, and reducing stiffness when you wake up.

Turmeric can stain light clothes so be careful during application.

Off I go to treat myself with this amazing mix.

Have a lovely weekend, everyone!
Mariah 💛

Sort:  

An interesting mix of ingredients

It is indeed, but very potent. ☺️

I love this!! The picture with all your treasures in the basket is just lovely. Hope your pain is eased soon!

Thank you very much, I literally just applied it and it is very soothing. 😊

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Wow, you are truely a professional nurse you make an ointment pain relief just a ingredients in your backyard, that was really awesome. Maybe I need that ointment too🤣

Haha! Thank you, it is my passion to make things, and it comes in handy. You can make it too. ☺️

I hope so😅

You never cease to amaze me!

Thank you for all your support. I really appreciate it. x

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @theworldaroundme.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!