You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basil and Holy Basil (Ocimum species) herbal monograph

in Natural Medicine10 days ago (edited)

It's funny, Oncimum basilicum is one species that does not do so well in this particular area (it's too wet). I believe that Oncimum sanctum is a synonym for Oncimum tenuiflorum, which comes in green and purple variants too. 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Sort:  

Yes O.basilicum does like the warmth. tenuifolium and sanctum are synonyms.

Do you have the green (Rama tulsi) or the purple (Krishna tulsi) form of O. tenuiflorum, or both? 😁🙏💚✨🤙

I've only come upon the green variety locally, though as it starts to prepare for the cold weather, leaves do shift to purple. Are there any differences in the herbal use of the two varieties in your area?

Oh wow, the leaves shift to purple in colder weather? That's a new one for these plants! I've never seen the green form with any purple at all! In terms of their medicinal uses, while they do have very similar compounds, the purple form seems stronger, and as such is used medicinally more. When I make my medicinal tea blends, I always use both. 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙