An Unexpected Visit from CIA - The Life of Hypersensitivosaurus

Hyper Zen.jpg

As I told my mom, after having finished my third, supposedly, decaf coffee this morning:

I'm pretty sure there is caffeine in decaf coffee, as I'm really... feeling it today.

To which she replied:

It depends on what coffee you have been using.

And then the insight hit me...

What I had been taking for decaf ( in the last week or so ), hadn't been decaf at all.

Apparently, my mom had made a distinction between decaf and 'normal' coffee lately, using two separate containers - I vaguely remembered her doing this a while back - and the filter coffee that I had been using in the last couple of days for my parents and myself had been the usual caffeine containing one, instead of decaf.

For your information: I stopped drinking coffee a couple of months ago and had managed to reduce my caffeine intake to a cup of coffee a week ( not counting decaf ).

Not this week though, haha!

Suddenly I realized why I had so much trouble falling asleep earlier this week...

On Tuesday, I went to bed around 11 and lay awake until about 3:30am.
On Wednesday, it took me at least two hours to fall asleep.

The stress that I had been feeling throughout the days and at night and my heart working overtime, which I had blamed on the C word, spread by the news as well as related to excitement over the woman that has entered my life about a week ago, had been CIA ( Caffeine Induced Anxiety ) all the time.

This explains why even meditating and long walks didn't stop my heart from beating like crazy.

These three cups of coffee gave me loads of inspiration today ( for several posts ) but made it even harder to focus than usual. I needed all my will power to pour it into this write up.

Long story short:

I am happy to have discovered that the outside world - and the craziness of this month so far - doesn't have as big of an effect on my heart rate as I thought. From tonight onwards, I will slowly reduce my caffeine intake once again, so I can get back to my more relaxed, more Zen, natural, mindful self once again.

How much caffeine are you drinking? Have you been upping your intake lately? If so, I strongly suggest you try to slow down, even if it seems to lead to 'better' writing. Life is stressful enough already.


Peace out,

Little Hyper


Image: More than ( a ) Li'l Hyper - HyperZensitivosaurus. Not to be confused with Hypersensitivosaurus.

Sort:  

Enjoyed this during my coffee break, but like a real caffeine fein!

Hahaha! How much caffeine are you drinking these days?

 4 years ago  

Is HyperZensitivosaurus related to Hypersensitivosaurus? Is he like the evolution or something? Be careful with the caffeine it's a gateway drug :P

$trdo

Yes he is and he just turned Supersayian today ;>)

 4 years ago  

Wow, was it the caffeine?

hahahaha it was the black gold that got you racing bro!!

Coffee intake?? a good 5 cups a day but never after 1600 ...sweet!

That's quite the amount but not drinking any more after 4PM sounds wise.

 4 years ago  

Oh no! That sounds like a horrible blunder to befall. I stopped caffeine use years ago and now even green tea is often too much for me. Glad you were able to pinpoint the cause of your anxiety!

It reminds me of putting salt in my coffee twice, in the past. It's a reason not to drink coffee with sugar ( not that I do now ).

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine - Glad you found the reason for your heart pounding so much and that it is an easy to fix problem - just cut out the caffeine! Never having been a coffee drinker I do not know the effects, this post gives a bit of insight into that - thanks for sharing!

curation.png If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord. We curate all #naturalmedicine posts, with larger votes going to those posted in our community! You can subscribe here.

Glad you found the reason for your heart pounding so much and that it is an easy to fix problem

Yes, it was somewhat of a relieve. Not being a coffee drinker is great. You don't miss much. The smell of fresh coffee is the nicest part of it anyway ;>)

Ahh oops XD well least you figured that out before thinking about going to doctor's for heart conditions? XD

I'm havign two cups of coffee a day because I'm an addict but apparently not as much of an addict as other people XD Won't up anymore than that because it will make me sick and sleep less than I already am and I can't afford to sleep less XD

least you figured that out before thinking about going to doctor's for heart conditions? XD

Hahaha, indeed.

Two cups a day isn't that much, although it might be enough to be called a coffee addict.

Make sure not to sleep ( even ) less. Sleep is underrated, it keeps us sane.

xx