Do you fear the virus? Or do you fear a mask? 😷 You are stronger than both!

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

It’s a bit late for this but it’s still a topic that comes up and I haven’t said this to anyone other than my buddies vincentnijman and @ryivhnn. Vincent would probably prefer that I didn’t tag him for this topic 😉

I used to consider myself fairly radical, non-violent, but relatively far leaning to one side. These days, I find myself in a moderate position on a number of issues. I don’t think I’ve changed much actually. It’s more like the world has changed, everyone pushing further and further into different directions.

This whole mask thing.

The level of paranoia and even policing in some countries is definitely extreme. I get why some people would be unhappy about it. I get why some people would wanna fight against it. Nobody likes being pressured to do things.

At the same time, I can’t help but feel that a fear of masks is just as unhealthy as a fear of illness. A mask isn’t going to hurt you. It isn’t going to stop oxygen flow to your brain. If that were true, everyone in Asia would have brain damage already. If you’re not wearing it at home or while you sleep, I honestly don’t see any reason to fear a mask.

“But it’s part of a plan to control us, take away our freedom, and symbolically cover our mouths”

Maybe? Could be? I mean, I hear you. I think this needs to be discussed. It is very possible that we are being manipulated. But I also don’t know for sure what is manipulation and what is just reaction to fear. It’s really easy to blame the bogeyman. There are always powerful people thinking of their own interests, and it’s impossible for us to see everything that they have their hands in. But at the same time, I find it much more common that what we experience is due to our collective fear manifesting.

Overwhelming fear of an illness, fear that interferes with our thought process will hinder our decision making abilities and likely caused us to make the illness spread. Overwhelming fear of the powers that be and their plan to get us all wearing masks all the time would likely have the same affect on our freedoms. It will only give them more power over us. The more we indulge our fear based thinking, the more we hurt ourselves. It doesn’t matter what it is we fear.

First and foremost, I believe in the power of the human body to heal itself and to fight off illness. Obviously our habits and lifestyles will have an impact on our ability to do this. If you don’t get enough sleep and eat a bunch of chemicals, get depressed and worried all the time, well, I’m not sure your body will be able to fight off most illnesses! But I’m also not judging people for not living the healthiest lifestyles. It’s hard in the world we live in.

Everything in its right time. Health is a process that never ends, and we can only be as healthy as we are ready to be.

So for those who aren’t health-conscious, constantly meditating perfect beings, a mask could probably help you avoid a rather inconvenient illness. Not only the one that has been going around the news recently, but also a common cold or the flu.

As someone who still eats a bit more sugar than I should, a bit more meat than I could, and sleeps a bit less than I’d like, I’d like to avoid putting myself at extra risk. I meet elderly people frequently enough and many of them aren’t in the best of shape. I’m cautious for their sake.

So I wear a mask.

It’s not out of fear. I don’t wear it all the time. I still go out. I still meet people regularly. I never stopped. I just do little things to minimize the risk of infection without making huge compromises to my daily life for something that, at its very worst is just a tad bit more dangerous than the flu (and may be less dangerous than the flu). 100 cases a day in a city of millions (considering the low death rate here) is not enough for me to make drastic changes.

The mask is really not a big deal. People in Japan have been wearing masks forever, not as a rule but as a courtesy. If your habits are crap, it doesn’t really seem to do much because your immune system will be such a mess that even a tiny particle could get you sick. But if you have a good habits, seems to make a big difference. One particle vs whole mouthfuls of other people’s breath can make a difference. Washing hands and wearing a mask really seems to make a difference. It’s not as good as really healthy habits, but it’s something.

I’m not gonna get on peoples ass for promoting the wearing of masks. I’m not gonna rant and rave about how stupid it is, when it could clearly help some people.

The mask is not the problem.

The hysteria is.

And hysteria on one side tends to feed hysteria on the opposite side. So I really don’t think much about this in my every day life. On an empty street you won’t find me wearing a mask, but as soon as I get to the Main Street, I put one on. After 9 or 10 when things die down, I put the mask away for the day. I don’t wear it when I’m with friends. I don’t avoid all physical contact with them. But I will wash my hands a bit more. Why the hell not?

Am I being controlled? Have I been manipulated? I really don’t think so. I’ve made one or two tiny adjustments to my life, and if I can put aside those paranoid thoughts of some nefarious plan to control people (I’ve had them too!), those habits feel totally alright to me. The extent to which others take those habits is a totally different story, I do think a lot of people are being too extreme. Sitting outside for a nice meal inside of a plastic bubble for example. Checking the news three times a day for example. Shouting at people for not having the same level of paranoia that they have, for example. That’s too much!

All of this being said, I do have to admit that I’m lucky. I’m in Japan, and while the hysteria certainly ran it’s course here, and the 8 o’clock soft curfew and later 10 o’clock soft curfew on businesses was utter nonsense, Absolutely nothing has been enforced. It is this freedom that allows me to say all this. On the other hand, the death rate has been extremely low here which is probably why nothing has been enforced.

This also feels like a sign that not everything is part of a plan. If it were all part of a plan to control us, I feel like the situation would be similar in most countries connected to the western finance system and political influence, but it’s not, at all. Why control some people and not others?

For all those who don’t want to be forced to do anything, I empathize. I’m with you. But like I said, the mask isn’t really the problem, the hysteria is.

You are stronger than all of this. Just try to be positive, find what life is trying to teach you, and none of this will hurt you.

64C7F0E9128B4837B4F0FA0E629020F9.jpeg

pexels

Sort:  

Excellent post, beautifully written and articulated! I couldn't care less about masks, but I wear them in public, mostly to avoid making others uneasy. The death rate in my country has also been astonishingly low, especially considering the rampant humanitarian crisis here.

Fear is the real disease, and it's been there for decades. The world didn't change in its functioning, we're only now seeing all the dirt and the noise for what it really is. I don't pay any mind to conspiracy theories either, I think the people in power are the most scared right now, this has gotten way beyond anyone's hands, and we're seeing everyone's true colors as well. We're seeing the collapse of Old World, and the birth of the New, so I understand the fear, and I understand the drama, but I don't engage with it nor support it in any way.

 4 years ago  

It’s really important right now to be able to keep some kind of peace of mind. I feel as if the last 5 or 6 years have prepared me so well in order to really be at ease despite all the massive changes. I can’t say I do a perfect job l, but I’m at least able to calm some people down.

I don’t really know what’s what but I know it’s all good if I remember it’s all good, no matter what

The masks are about submission, not health, time people woke up to that...

Refusing to wear a muzzle is not a sign of fear!

image.png

 4 years ago  

Well in New Zealand I probably wouldn't wear one either! Not with that population density

When I was the only person not wearing one one the bus in wellington, the density was higher...not that it matters!

Right now I'm here and I havnt seen a person in days

IMG_8831.jpg

 4 years ago  

Woahhhh hard not to be jealous of that view!

and that is the view from the spa pool!

and that is the view from the spa pool!

Here everyone wears masks. Only indoors and in transport. We are not afraid of the coronavirus, but of the economic consequences. We are joking about the coronavirus. Slovakia.

 4 years ago  

It’s so mixed in japan. Partly because there are so many old people. But the numbers don’t make sense. If I were in Spain I’d be much more cautious with that death rate. In japan the death rate is not worth thinking about.

 4 years ago  

I cant. It makes me anxious.. I think as all my sensory input seems to get funnelled to my forehead when I wear one, like my senses aren't diffused enough. I tried. I really did. But I can't. So I'm one of those people that people think are being assholes, but I have a legit medical reason not to wear one. And I can't breathe with one on. Asthma. Just can't. Tried.

 4 years ago  

Very sensitive! I get it. I am ultra sensitive to some things too. Well you live in the country right? Even I wouldn’t bother with a mask out there

 4 years ago (edited) 

Some very good points here. I'm glad we don't have to wear masks here, because I hate that they cause my glasses to fog up, but I feel almost exhausted by all the arguing going on right now.

I gather that in places like Japan and China it's fairly common to wear masks anyway, even pre covid. Are they generally worn if you're sick, in order to not spread to others, or to avoid getting sick?

 4 years ago  

Usually people wear them for 3 reasons. 1 to prevent getting others sick, 2 to protect against cold air and 3 to protect against pollen allergies. They seem to work half the time or more, though definitely not 100%. I usually never wore them before unless I was sick but I really don’t mind just wearing it on the train

, 2 to protect against cold air and 3 to protect against pollen allergies.

Interesting. I often felt my nose could use some more protection ( when I lived in The Netherlands ) but I'd much rather use a scarf, I think ( although that would probably make me look like a bank robber too ).

What about wearing a mouth mask against air pollution? That seems like a valid reason in many Asian cities for me.

I appreciate that you haven't tagged me but I found this post anyway, as you're one of the few people on here that I can't stop myself from stalking following in every single footstep.

You've got a point here: Fear ( or anger or paranoia or frustration ) about wearing a mask isn't helping our health much either but I still doubt that wearing a mask benefits our health ( although it might protect others ).

Anyhow, you now my stance in all this. We can't always agree on everything ;<)

Zach, I invite you to check out this video by @clareartista , if you can find the time, and leave her a comment. I also invite Clare to comment on this post, if she feels like it, and am looking forward to your interaction.

Much love and healthy molecules,

Vincent

 4 years ago  

Thanks man, you can stalk me all you want. I want to stalk you too!!

I don't fear the virus, I trust my bodies ability to self heal, especially when it has been treated right. I don't wear a mask, unless I am asked to within a shop as I have to respect the owners. But here we are meant to wear them everywhere. I don't believe for one second that this is about a virus and the mask is more of a symbol. I wish only to try and empower others. I agree the fear and hysteria is the problem for sure.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

 4 years ago (edited) 

I also trust in the bodies ability to protect itself when we are totally balanced and at peace, which I am not always, even if I am doing pretty good at being close.

You are amazing. I love that we can disagree so gracefully. I hope more people can learn to. I respect you so much!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

It was really an informative and beautiful article. We thank you!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment
 4 years ago  

2020 was a year to face fear for many. I’m quite pleased with the results. It seems everyone failed but I think we will see otherwise soon