Best Breakfast? Coconut Chia Pudding with Steamed fruit

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

FBF70611-DE60-4660-86BB-E0D7096ABA7F.jpeg

I’ve been skipping breakfast lately. It’s actually what I usually do because I’m not a big breakfast eater. A cup of tea and I’m good to go. But I’ve been craving one of my old favourites that is also super healthy and so tasty! So here’s a little look into Coconut Chia Pudding with Steamed fruit.

579524B7-778A-414B-A8A3-4B6E3AFD9762.jpeg

I’ve had my chia seeds sitting in the cupboard for the longest time and luckily they have a long shelf life because I tend to go through phases of eating things for a while and then change things up and then leftovers sit in the cupboard gathering dust.

This recipe is #plantbased #sugarfree #dairyfree and full of omegas, antioxidants, fibre, nutrients and it’s easy to add to your diet!

So this is how to make it.

INGREDIENTS

1 can of reduced fat coconut milk
6 tablespoons chia seeds
½ cup frozen blueberries
½ small apple
Dash of honey if needed

METHOD

CHIA PUDDING
Prepare the chia pudding the night before.

B1C1FF94-D9DD-402D-8145-8C20B5C5F18E.jpeg

Pour the can of Coconut milk into a jar with a lid or similar suitable container. I use an old large pasta sauce jar.

0866729E-D9F4-4DF6-8187-DA264F71628F.jpeg

Add the 6 tablespoons of Chia seeds to the coconut milk and stir well. Allow to stand for a few minutes as it thickens and then give it a good shake or another good stir making sure it’s not sticking at the bottom.

Leave it covered in the fridge overnight.

58D0A574-BF14-4DD9-980B-145F923FE4A6.jpeg

In the morning give the pudding another good stir and then spoon the pudding into a nice glass. I find this the most practical.

STEAMED FRUIT
Place the berries and chopped apple in a small microwave safe bowl.

17A052D6-BEF8-42E3-8D73-933F13E1E5D4.jpeg

Cover and microwave for 1.5 minutes on high.

639B9791-09FA-4A6F-BDE4-F6C789BB85AB.jpeg
Wa! la!

Spoon the steamed fruit on top of the pudding and add a dash of honey if you need some extra sweetness.

65B30E01-C92D-4A24-BA13-3064E58D1F23.jpeg

32C829E8-4D77-4776-9BBF-28E92776AF49.jpeg

Give it a stir for to combine and eat away!

You can halve the recipe to make a single serving or keep the rest in the fridge for later in the week.

On second thought, add a splash of cinnamon for an extra metabolism booster and it will take this breakfast to the next level.

9B98DD3E-C705-4707-88FC-E9EEE63DE2F6.jpeg

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! And Max loved licking my glass clean too 😂

7A9E3D9E-09F3-4D7A-81BB-BECC9DCC3B7A.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

What an awesome way to star the day. We have acai berries here in Suriname that are often used in breakfast puddings like this. I just recently found some chia seeds here for a decent price, and I'm planning a chia pudding soon myself.

Thanks for sharing this delicious creation with us.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Just my wife took out the steamer, we can use it for fruits, your recipes are wonderful, thx!

I’m so glad! Hope you enjoy it.

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Chia seeds...I can't do it. Tried. Re-tried. Gave up. Max can have my share. Although it looks pretty good!

When they’re well soaked they’re kinda like Sago or Tapioca pudding! No real flavour so the fruit flavours it but ya not everyone likes the texture. Max would be over the moon to have your share 😂

The taste I can handle, it's the texture. If I was starving I'd eat it, but if there was anything else available, even brussels sprouts, I'd eat that instead. 🤣

You're up late!

This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe 😅
I'll also try this. Hopefully I'll enjoy as much as Max did 😄

Ha ha ha! You can use any fruit that you like and it should work. Hope you like it too!

We have no habit of using chia seeds but such recipes make me think again about the use of chia. Thanks for sharing!

Glad I can help!

 3 years ago  

It looks very delicious, I think I should prepare one at home and try it because it catches my attention. One question, can you replace the chia with something else?

Sep.png

Natural Medicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our community - we'd love to welcome you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I haven’t tried it with anything else but if you eat grains I’d add the steamed fruit to cooked oats. That would be so tasty too. Might need some extra honey as plain oats don’t have much flavour either.

 3 years ago  

Perfect, thank you very much for the recommendation.

Congratulations @zo3d!
Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post -
Stuffed Peppers, Mung Bean Croquettes, Indian-Style Mango Leather, Coconut-Chia Pudding, Steamed Pumpkin & Sprouts, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io