Purple Power Smoothie

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

F08FEE44-E804-4693-A501-6476128FB169.jpeg

Last week was a busy one with something big happening every single day. I’ve been trying to stick to my healthy eating routine even through the busy-ness, until Easter Weekend of course, then it went up the creek.

I was craving all the goodness of a green smoothie and the berries of a purple smoothie. Berries are my weakness and my mom recently ordered a whole lot of frozen berries for me so my freezer is packed with them. I just had to do a little digging to find what I needed for this one.

INGREDIENTS
1/2 Banana
Cucumber
Spinach
Kiwi
Blueberries
Strawberries
Honey
Cinnamon

And every smoothie needs a little liquid to help it blend so I added 3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk.

A7DAC1B7-EDE9-42F1-AAB5-28E14B76C3CA.jpeg

Whizz it all in the NutriBullet for a few seconds and the results are a gorgeous dark purple smooth blend of goodness.

3C044E7C-2ECB-4F1F-90FA-7AA3DA73C52C.jpeg

There are so many superfoods and metabolism boosters packed into this one smoothie. The only thing I forgot to add was half a small avocado or some coconut oil to add some omega’s into the mix.

228DB481-16C3-4122-9C15-0E752CB790EB.jpeg

This weeks fruit bowl is ready for a new smoothie that’s going include beautiful golden gooseberries, pineapple, avos and whatever else I can find floating around while I wait for my fruit trees to ripen. The yellow colours are reminding me to use a splash of turmeric but sometimes the flavour can be too much for me.

I had an interesting version of a turmeric yogurt Iced lolly which was a part of a Birchers rainbow breakfast bowl but the turmeric was just too obvious and put me off a little. Do you have ways of hiding it???

2FB7088C-8A12-48CF-B982-F99BE46B2D2B.jpeg

We have a gorgeous lemon tree, guava tree and a loquat tree. I don’t think I’d use the loquats but the lemons and guavas are looking great! Just a few more weeks before we will be inundated with fruit so watch this space.

As we move into winter I may need to find warmer ways of incorporating all my faves into new versions of these smoothies.

What do you do in winter when you need warm options?? I’d love to hear from you.

15DF2864-C8C8-49FA-9063-A946B51C9731.png

Sort:  

Hi @zo3d , the drink you made looks super tasty.

Thanks! Ye sit was lovely! Especially because the frozen berries made is extra cold!

I have tried it without the kiwi, I will try 😋it looks great

I’m sure it’s just as good without the kiwi! I just like that kiwi is very high in vitamin C so I try to add it to everything.

 3 years ago  

I almost missed this delicious smoothie somehow, but in a way I almost glad. Blueberries, strawberries, kiwis, three things I love and don't have access to anymore, and you put them all in a smoothie. You don't know the craving this triggers. I forgive you though, no worries.

Thanks for sharing.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Ha ha ha... I’m so sorry! Guess you can make next season. I get all my berries frozen, but the kiwi won’t be available much longer. Gonna miss it!