ๆ–ฐๅนดๅฟซไน! Happy New Lunar Nails ๐Ÿฒโค๏ธ

in Hive Nails โ€ข 3 months ago

You guys know, if I have a chance to be festive, I would, and nail art is just something I often do just to express how festive I am. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿฎ

Untitled design (4).jpg



LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_27.jpg

Let's get a look into...

๐Ÿ’… My Nails Inspiration ๐Ÿ’…

Today, we are celebrating the Chinese New Year aka the New Lunar Year. In Thailand, many cultures are still influenced by China as many of us have Chinese heritage. So, we get to enjoy this time too. I chose the color red this time around, as it's the color of China's flag and we believe red and gold would bring us luck in the new year.

untitled.gif


๐Ÿ’… Getting Ready ๐Ÿ’…

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_33.jpg

Starting with removing my New Year, New Peachy Magnet Nails for 2024!, I was really impressed how they were still intact on my real nails so good. I guess the key is to not have it for too long.

That day, my usual nail artist wasn't there, so I got to work with the new nail artist. I was both excited and anxious if she's gonna get it how I'd prefer it.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_32.jpg


Still, this time I wanted to have long red nails, so I got the extensions and I asked her to please make it stuck to my real nails as much as possible.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_34.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_35.jpg


As we went through matching and attaching the right size of plastic nails onto my real ones, I was getting sleepy because this process is the longest of getting nails done.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_43.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_47.jpg

The picture on the right is when one hand is done. I do wish I could keep the length but I know I won't be able to do anything without scratching myself, so let's shorten them for practicality purposes. Now, let's make the surface of the nails smooth and even.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_51.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_53.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_57.jpg
Filing
Drilling
Done!

๐Ÿ’… The Red Base ๐Ÿ’…

Like I said, I picked red. It might sound like it's done there but in reality...

untitled.gif

I still had to pick "the red" from a whole bunch of reds in this basket. ๐Ÿ˜‚ I guess, you can understand me if you ever had to pick a red lipstick. It's pretty much the same thing.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_63.jpg


Started with the clear base nail coat, making sure it was smooth even before we started painting the color on them.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_65.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_71.jpg


The red coat base, here we go!

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_77.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_78.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_92.jpg

Is it just me? Or my hand does look brighter with the red nails?


๐Ÿ’… The Gradient Gold Effect ๐Ÿ’…

This time, the effect I chose is to make the gradient with the color of gold. Why not? Red for luck and Gold for money! ๐Ÿ˜‚ The nail artist using her hand and the brush to "scrub" (that's the word she used) the gold powder on the red base.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_99.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_101.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_102.jpg

With some smudging and decorating process, the gold and the red started to gradually blend into each other.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_113.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_114.jpgLINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_117.jpg

This is the finished look from this step.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_122.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_123.jpg


๐Ÿ’… The Golden Tree Effect ๐Ÿ’…

From the last two pictures, did you notice why I left some of my nails un-gradient? That's because I want those nails to have other effects, the golden tree. I believe it's a good sign for growing well into the new year.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_2.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_15.jpg

The way to do that is to draw a clear gel in the shape of a tree, then "scrub" the same gold powder on it to make it visible. Oh! One more thing. I want to show you this. My nail artist uses this gold powder. I'm not sure what it is but it looked like an eye shadow. So, if anyone knows what it is, please shed light on me. I wanna know what it is.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_125.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_124.jpg


๐Ÿ’… Finished Nails and My Opinions About Them ๐Ÿ’…

That's the last step of the nail art for my Chinese New Year 2024, guys, and here are the finished product. The red base, the gradient gold, and the golden tree. What do you think about it?

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_23.jpg

For me, my super honest opinions is that I'm partly disappointed with these nails. I was expecting the red to be more darker and the tree to look more like a bamboo tree, to make it more Chinese. I think the nail artist didn't really get all the details as I hoped.

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_26.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Chinese nails_240210_28.jpg


I like the gradient part. That one was new to me and I'm satisfied with how it turned out but the tree, /myeh/ not so much. I guess I just had to let the nail artist know exactly how I wanted it and be clear about it.

This time, it wasn't all bad, maybe we're just new to each other and I just need to communicate what I want more. Still, I got my lucky Lunar Nails. Let's see what I'll come up with the new nails next time. Hope you guys stick around and enjoy this nail post of mine.

Stay glitter and sparkling, everybody!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle ๐Ÿœ



Sort: ย 

Te quedaron bien lindas ๐Ÿคฉ๐Ÿ‘

I loved your nails, I wonder how those gold details would have looked on a black or purple base...

ย 3 months agoย ย 

Thank you so much! Black gold must be really pretty! and purple
gold can be interesting. Iโ€™d make sure that the purple is dark enough too. :)

Yes, a purple very dark xd