It's National Sourdough Bread Day in US!

in BreadBakers4 years ago

82CC1023-8158-49E6-8350-C4ED20AA6B9E.png

Hello bread baker friends,

It's National Sourdough Bread Day in the US. Many of us aren't in the US but why not celebrating it with a loaf 😁

I, @akipponn, got to know it too late so I baked one with a bit commercial yeast boost. The recipe is from German famous bread baking blog "Plötzblog". If you are interested in the recipe, Google translate works well.

Schweizer Bürli - Plötzblog - Selbst gutes Brot backenPlötzblog – Selbst gutes Brot backen

Show your bread to breadbakers community or with #breadbakers tag.

Happy bread baking!

Sort:  

I hardly dare to write this, but my sour dough starter is again dead... it happened exactly the same like the first time. First mixture (50 rey and 50 g warm water) bubbles after 12 hours, mixture two (added 50g flour and 50 water) and it doubled in appr. 6 hours, third step is the fail: I took 10 g of the starter mixture and added flour and water and this was it... no bubbles. No sourdough celebration for me 😨
Any ideas, as your surdough seems to work fine?

Oh no ... I'm sorry about your sourdough. Hmmm. I don't think you did something wrong.

What I do is to ...

  1. Mix 10g water and 10g flour (5g/5g is fine. Just to mix two in same weight)
  2. Add 10g water and 10g flour to the mixture next day. Stir the starter well.
  3. Continue step 2 for 3-5 days.
  4. Store the starter in fridge.

If you stop feeding sourdough, it stops bubbling as there is no food (wild yeast eats flour and makes Pupser, that's the bubble).

I use a Weck jar or a container with a slice of paper towel in between its lid and body so that it's not closed completely.

I wish I were your neighbor and hang my starter on your door knob ... 😁

THank youuu... I will try again. Your measurements seem much more reasonable, I always felt to waist so much flour with my recipe.

The bread looks yum. Thanks for the link to the recipe.

Thank you for reading the post too :) @akipponn (@breadbakers)

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

FoodieBanner.png

Thank you for curating the post! (akipponn @breadbakers)