I am too late and the sourdough is dead

in BreadBakers4 years ago

pinterest steemit titelbild16.png

The title says it all… I killed it again. The sourdough bubbles no more but my wish to bake a sourdough bread is unbowed. Now I am contemplating two find an organic bakery and beg for sourdough. Do you think this will work (no fear, it’s a rhetoric question)?

Design ohne Titel7.png

And this is not all, I also forgot the final entry date for the yeast challenge of the BreadBakers community, not that my smelly blob of dough is worth an entry or a regular post.

pinterest steemit titelbild16.png

And at least: the universe is sending me signs (regarding breadbaking). I went grocery shopping yesterday evening and the bakery of the supermarket was closed but hold this improvised plate which says:
Flour
Wheat! Spelt!
Yeast
With this I will leave you and hope for helpful interpretation :-D

neumannsalva  Kopie.png

Sort:  

I killed my first two sourdoughs, too. The one I have now for nearly two years I got as a gift from an acquaintance. I had written in a discord server about me having killed the previous one with neglect and just offered to send me some of hers. For all the crazy people you meet via internet, there are others that are kind and friendly :)

FYI: you can make a "backup" of your sourdough in dry form. Just smear it on a big sheet of baking paper and let it dry - 36 to 48 hours, just to be sure it's really dry. Then break this layer in small parts. As a backup for yourself put it in a closed jar in a dry place. To send it to someone, put it in a Ziploc bag and you can mail it in a padded envelope.

If there's mold, it's no good.
If there's no mold, it can still be revived :)

I have the same measure 😂

Oops! I've never tried making sourdough but think that I am going to experiment with a dutch oven next

FYI: https://www.sauerteigboerse.de/ I found this on Plötzblog.

It is fascinating how sought after sourdough is... I will get a bit of dried sourdough from @muscara thankfully, and will try my luck with it first :-D

I have thrown mine away for now. I messed about with another lot that did nothing, and there is still a jar lurking in the fridge, but that will go to when I remember to remove it. The loaves look very impressive, and one day I will get round to trying it again, but when I have more time to concentrate on it.

Meanwhile, yeasted bread is very tasty :)

I am now hopefully awaiting @muscara’s dried sourdough. I will give this another chance and hope it will result in a workable starter. If not, its also yeast breads for me :-DDD