Portobello Mushroom PLT Sandwich

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I adore summer evening rains. After a hot day of being outside in the sun & then the dark clouds roll in and the leaves on the trees start to blow downward. A few drops begin to fall and the pavement begins to smell like worn moccasins. (I know, weird, but I have always thought this was what moccasins would smell like). We would all rush off to our homes before the downpour started, just in time for dinner.

plt.jpeg

I’m sure you’d agree with me when I say that summertime is the best for eating. Fresh summer produce in abundance that you just can’t get in the cooler months. Fresh corn on the cob. Juicy tomatoes. Cherries. Peaches. Dinner outdoors on the screened-in porch. Lightning bugs in the background. Summers of my childhood. And not to mention B.L.T.s A LOT! They were our easy go-to dinner that we all loved and super quick for my mom to prepare. And she was just talking about them the other day and it made me start craving one. Bad! But no bacon for me, and I steer away from fake meats. We do not get along. So portobello bacon experiments commenced! And now my bacon lovin’ bf is obsessed with these, too. Ready in 20 minutes. Few dishes. Perfect for you to laze around afterwards listening to the rain instead of washing a ton of dishes.

I love how the bite of the horseradish offsets the sweet & smoky flavor of the “bacon.”

plt1.jpeg

2 large portobello caps, cleaned and stem removed
1 Tbsp. liquid smoke
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1/2 Tbsp. vegan worcestershire sauce (I use the 365 Whole Foods brand)
2 tsp. maple syrup
1 tsp. chili powder
S & P to taste

1 small or medium avocado
1/2 c. cooked or canned white beans
3 tbsp. prepared horseradish

2 tomatoes, sliced
4 pieces of lettuce
8 slices of bread, toasted*

*Get quality bread from a bakery or look for bread that has no added sugars, such as Ezekiel brand.

plt2.jpeg

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Slice the portobello caps into thin, long slices. Toss ingredients from liquid smoke to S &P together in a dish and coat portobellos. Sauté portobellos over medium heat for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

In the meantime, smash together flesh from avocado, white beans and horseradish in a bowl until well combined.

Spread 1/4 of the avocado spread onto 4 slices of toast. Top other slice with portobello bacon, lettuce and tomato. Recommended to serve with corn on the cob for the perfect summer evening meal.

plt3.jpeg

*I have to add, if you are a vegetarian, but not vegan, might I suggest adding a fried egg to these guys for a little added texture. I love them both ways, and wanted to throw out that suggestion to you!

Sort:  

Hi aellas,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much for your support 🙏

This is the kind of sandwich that I haven't tried yet, I will surely try this one out.

Thank you 🙏

You're welcome.