Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I am the Augustus Gloop of hummus! Open the doors of my wildest imagination and I would be gulping from hummus rivers with little hummus trees swayed above my head dropping every different flavor around me. How is it possible that a little chickpea can bring a grown (mostly?) woman so much joy?! We make it in my household on the regular and not just by me, buy also by the other hummusaurus that I live with. And when we do, it gets devoured. This is why I have started to making my own. We eat soooo much and let’s be serious, those little containers at the store are not cheap.

So this one goes out to all you (hummus) lovers out there.

hummus-001.jpeg

Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

1 15 oz. can chickpeas* + brine or 1.5 c. cooked chickpeas + 1/2 c. brine**
1/4 c. tahini—Make sure this is good tahini. For years I couldn’t figure out why my hummus was tasting like metal, until I read reviews on the tahini I was using.
1/2 8 oz. jar sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil
1/2 c. fresh basil leaves, tightly packed
2 Tbsp. olive oil
juice from 1 lemon
2 cloves garlic
S & P

hummus-002.jpeg

Place all ingredients into a food processor / blender and blend until smooth. Spoon into serving dish and garnish with basil leaves and sun dried tomato bits.

*I like to use Eden Organic brand as they use non BPA cans and use kombu seaweed to improve digestibility.

**Use this method for creamy hummus if using dried beans, which we learned after years of testing. Soak the dried garbanzos overnight in the refrigerator with enough water to cover them and 1 tsp. baking soda. The next day, drain and rinse the garbanzo beans. Place beans in a pot and cover with water and cook for 45 minutes. Drain, saving 1/4 c. of the liquid.

hummus-003.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi aellas,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you 🙏

Congratulations @aellas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation