Introducing Adobong Manok with Sweet Potato - A Dish I Never Tasted for a Long Time

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

20210411_071952.jpg

Greetings Foodies Bee Hive!

Hi everyone! Let me tell you a personal back story of this dish that I going to share with you today. As far as I remember the last time that I ate this kind of adobo is between 1994 and 1998. My nurse elder sister used to cook it for me every Sunday (dinner) so that the left-over will be my breakfast the following morning before I go to school. And then I realized, whoa! that's more than 20 years before I tasted this dish again. Although this is just an ordinary adobo it does have a distinct taste because of the sweet potato.

Before I was able to cook this dish, yesterday, I and my wife were discussing what dish we are going to cook for the following morning. I said to her, I want a chicken adobo with sweet potato, and she said, okay, it will be my first time to eat such a dish, an adobo with sweet potato (she's always cooking adobo combined only with potatoes prior to this dish). Little did she know that this dish's soup has a distinct taste.

Prior to this dish I always cook plain chicken adobo (sometimes I add potatoes). Also, my wife always cooks a plain adobo, and sometimes she adds potatoes too but not sweet potatoes.

FYI, a delicious tip is at the near end of this article.

20210411_083723.png

  • Chicken
  • Sweet Potato
  • Potato
  • Onion
  • Ginger
  • Garlic
  • Bay Leaf
  • Black Pepper
  • Soy Sauce
  • Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Cooking Oil

20210411_083714.png

Sweet Potato

Potato

Onion

Ginger

Garlic

Bay Leaves and Black Pepper

Chicken
20210408_091647.jpg

20210411_083501.png

1. Sautee onions and garlic with some cooking oil

20210408_092017.jpg

2. Add the chicken, then stir so that it will be sauteed evenly

20210408_092112.jpg

3. Add bay leaves and black pepper

20210408_092227.jpg

4. Add sweet potato and potato

20210408_092404.jpg

5. Add some water submerging the chicken

20210408_092511.jpg

6. Add 100 ml of Soy Sauce and 100 ml of vinegar, add some salt to taste, adjust the saltiness and sourness of the dish by adding more soy sauce and vinegar according to your preference. Let it boil until the soup is reduced to half.

20210408_092836.jpg

DELICIOUS TIP: Mash some of the sweet potatoes when they are already cooked then stir them into the soup, the mashed sweet potatoes should make the soup thicker, if not, mash more sweet potatoes. The mashed sweet potatoes will provide a more flavorful soup. This dish will become more flavorful if reheated in your next meal.

20210411_083422.png

20210408_100540.jpg




I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father, and a husband.


Sort:  

Manok its mean Chiken??

Yes, it means chicken.

Similar to Ayam Kecap in here. Ayam means 'chicken' and Kecap it means 'soy sauce' :)

Hey, next time you have to make sure the real-time to cook chicken until the meat is soft :)

Hey, next time you have to make sure the real-time to cook chicken until the meat is soft :)

I'll keep that in mimd, thank you 🙂

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Nagutom ako bigla when I saw your post!😁

Try mo yan kabayan, sarap yan lalo na kapag humalo sa sabaw yung dinurog na kamote, mas masarap pa yan kapag ininit ulit sa next meal.