5-Minutes Freewrite: Carrot Cake

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)


img_0.35352826318153124.jpg

"Mama, for my birthday can you bake me a carrot cake? I love your carrot cake!" That's what my children have been requesting for their birthdays for the past few years.

Yes, my whole family loves carrot cake! And, I happen to have a foolproof recipe which I won't be sharing this time, haha.

When I started my baking pleasures, I remember the first cake I tried my hands on was carrot cake. Flour and I unfortunately have not figured each other out yet, yea it is what it is— a love hate relationship, so my first carrot cake came out from the rice cooker. Can you believe it? A rice cooker baked carrot cake. Hah!

After a few rounds of tweaking the recipe to our tastebuds I made some to share with a couple of friends, too. I remember one of them was @iamjadeline, hahaha!! (Hope it wasn't too bad!) Some years back when my hands weren't too full, I baked a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting in a shape of a rainbow for my husband's birthday. I remember wishing him a great year ahead and that his dreams would come true, and most importantly, the One who made the heavens is faithful to His promises.


img_0.6221892218536342.jpg

And by the look on my son's face, you could see that he was wayyyyy more excited over the cake than his dad did, haha!


img_0.3347114663747197.jpg

A couple of years back, my beautiful firstborn requested for a carrot cake for her 5th birthday, and I happily obliged!


img_0.9209954403681508.jpg

It isn't that she has stopped requesting since, but that time has become more hectic and all the more when our third and littlest came along. I wanted to bake one for myself earlier this month for my birthday but was too exhausted to do so. Maybe I can arrange and plan a surprise for my middle child who will be having his 4th birthday next month! To be honest, I kinda miss baking my own carrot cake, too!

Fingers crossed, we shall see!

How about you, do you like carrot cake, too?

*All photos shared in this post are my own.

Sort:  

I wish I could eat it. Share me some of that cake😁. Have a nice day.

Hahaha, sure here you go! 🍰 Have a great day, too 😊

I like carrot cake too, but the cream cheese topping can make whole lot of difference if controlled well in terms of saltiness. I wasn't so sure why my ex-boss put salt into the cream cheese when she's blending it, until I make my own without salt.

😱 Salt in the cream cheese frosting? 🤔 I don't recall putting any in mine, haha! My frosting is a lazy hack, I'd usually just mix some powdered sugar to the cream cheese and spread it. I like it thick. Adding cream or butter may make it more spreadable it's true, but I prefer using as minimal ingredients as I can. If adding salt into the mix would elevate the taste, I would certainly love to try it next time!

Hamigad!!!
You have three now!!!
Congratulations!!!!
They must keep you very busy :D
But still I am hoping you are going to share that recipe one day coz I too love carrot cake

Hahaha, yassssss I have 3 anaks now! The littlest will turn 1 this April. Our hands and feet are full! My recipe is pretty much foolproof because it only requires basic ingredients. It's really like most of the recipes out there, sans the fanciness. And I guess that's what makes it special, because like any other recipes it all depends on our preferences and taste buds. Some like theirs with more cinnamon powder, some don't. That kind of thing. If I do manage to make it I'll remember to tag you :)