The last Trip To Chef’s Table Was Choatic! | From Food To Good, We Got It All At One Place | Gulshan Series Pt. 4

in Foodies Bee Hive15 days ago

Good friends walk around with spoons in their pockets to find another spot to eat together. Friendship makes food last and more delicious.


Hello, foodies of Hive. I hope you all are doing well.

Source of Quote

_897462a8-e9ea-4aa5-bb18-6463708e93ce.jpg

Today marks the last "free" day before the start of another hectic semester with huge assignments and fiery examination deadlines. I wanted to mark it with a few special people who have been with me since the school days, my OG buds but a few of them could not make it as they are already abroad doing their things.

_9c09b037-90b8-446e-b94b-16a0bcaf47fb.jpg

We planned to go to the one place that we knew would not disappoint us. Moreover, I wanted to spend a little from my savings just to make sure I don't do much leisure activity during the semester, that way I would focus on my studies. Also, I wanted to make memories one meal at a time.

And so, the place was at Unimart, Gulshan. This is their Facebook website

hive.png

The Plan

The idea was simple, we were all going to meet up in the same place at a fixed time after we were done with our work for the day. My work was none since it was the last free day and I had the entire day off, that way it depended on my friend Erfan who had an actual job. His shift would end at 3 pm. My other friend was the same as me since we both went to the same varsity.

Since we were all guys, our time coordination was not as poor as it usually happens with my other female friends. We meet near the place at 4 pm and start the day with an epic chow.

And after eating, we would stop for dessert from there and then come right back to our homes. The best part was, we all lived nearby and so we could talk about more stuff on the way back.

IMG_6211.jpeg

The first order to arrive was Erfan's. He got the mushroom cream soup that came with a complimentary bread fried with butter. When I tell you that the dish was divine, I am not exaggerating. The harmony of the bread with the soup was better than most meat dishes out there.

My friend Araf was a bit antsy since he didn't want to look like a freeloader... but then I reminded them of our freeloading days at school XD. It was the best, some of our comedy still lingers in our psyche.

IMG_6213.jpeg

The second dish to come out was Araf's. He also got it from Pasta Mania. This time, it was the chicken stroganoff with mashed potato with hints of butter. This mash was not as bland as I had expected.

Our traditional dish, the "aloo bhorta", was very similar to this except that our traditional dish had more spice mixture and hence spicier. That way, the true flavor of spice could be enjoyed through the doughy mash.

And now the meaty bit. After having such an amazing appetizer, the stroganoff was a little off in the mouth. I had to rinse my mouth with a little water before digging into the saucy meat. And honestly, it falls short in front of the Lebanese Stroganoff that I had a few months back. That hit the right tingling in my mind and tongue.

Overall, it was okay.

IMG_6214.jpeg

And finally, my dish arrives. It was taken from Thai Bahn and I did not regret it. The egg was perfect, not too runny, and not slightly coagulated from the bottom. Just perfect. The beef was loaded with spices that were native to Thai people, it was not traditionally used in our cuisine. Therefore, it could be authentic. However, its price was ridiculous.

IMG_6215.jpeg

And lastly, the second dish of Erfan's came along. It was the beef stroganoff with spicy potato and mashed potato. This was a dish that I had expected to have more quantity. This was probably the most expensive dish of all of our dishes. The stroganoff was a teensy bit too diluted when compared with the chicken one we just had. Yet, it went great with the mashed potato.

It had a complex mixture of flavors that my bus just could not handle after all the flavor bombs I had had.

Now, we all had some cash left. I suggested we play Catch Me, a claw machine gift shop that was open for all ages. And sure enough, we all chipped in. I burned through mine after looking and trying at the outside machines and the inside ones. It took me an hour to finish mine since the place was tiny and the people were too many. I kept being shoved until I finally found empty spots. This was immensely chaotic as everyone was winning something and would scream their hearts out, distracting me and others. Moreover, it was very hot inside. The average body heat was just too much.

IMG_6221.jpeg

Regardless of the conditions, I could not win any but somehow my friend Erfan got one of them. Lucky bastard. Araf was as unlucky as me. We called it a victory after being ripped by the store. I couldn't pull out the camera inside the store as people would give me the "looks", so we went outside and I captured it.

The Dessert

IMG_6217.jpeg

After sorely losing to the claw machine and shop, it was time for dessert to sweeten the mood. Erfan got the famed Mochi from the corner sweet shop. It was as soft as I remember the last time I had been here.

IMG_6216.jpeg

I stuck with ice cream as I could not trust the sorbets here. I usually don't drink fruit juices, so having a sorbet ice cream was out of the question. I got myself a double scoop chocolate fudge ice cream from Savoy. I already had the first scoop before taking that pic, it was so good that I forgot to monetize it.

IMG_6219.jpeg

And finally, we were going out of the place. Erfan was very happy since he won that doll. Araf in the back had a spoken face since he lost all the trials he had there and did not get a sweet refreshment afterwards.

And that was the end of today's trip as we slowly headed back toward our homes, to our busy lives.

Thank you for reading this far, hope you found it informative and enjoyable!

_b358b122-80b4-47ae-88e7-bfb4cb3fe670.jpg