The Ultimate Beef Chowdown ~ Woodhouse Grill | Banani Restaurants Series Pt.1

in Foodies Bee Hive18 days ago

"A family dinner at a restaurant is a chance to escape the routine and create a special occasion filled with laughter and joy."


Source

Hello, foodies of Hive. I hope you all are doing well today.

_7d9bb990-72ad-4c13-b544-833d2a251f74.jpg

For the longest time, I have meant to post about this amazing steakhouse at Banani but it always seemed to escape my thought. This time, I made sure to remember to grab a few tissues because this course of meat is sure to trigger salivation.

Just type "Woodhouse Grill, Dhaka" for its location and you'll get the directions.

P.S. I usually click photos together with my cousin but this time I didn't post any because he did not permit me as he is shy and has a few other reasons.

_e6890dc8-c221-4093-a5c1-2cb413216ea1.jpg

Story Time

The original plan was to meet with my cousin and brother just outside the restaurant at Gulshan 30 minutes before iftar time. It would be done on the 4th last Ramadan day and the reservation was made accordingly. But, since this was the first time I was going to get a huge ass meal for ourselves, we had to preorder our meal.

IMG_6152.jpeg

It cost us a small fortune for it as well. The platter's name was Steak & Co.

Steak & Co. include:

  1. Sirloin Steak
  2. Grilled Wings
  3. Grilled Prawn
  4. Chicken Chorizo Sausage
  5. Rusty Chicken
  6. Grilled Fish Fillet
  7. Chicken Fajita
  8. Garlic Mushroom Sautéed
  9. Mexican/saffron rice
  10. Date

And yes, it was too much for 1 person. But, if you guys have been following me, you'll see me have a ton of food in one sitting. The trick is to eat as slowly as possible to let your body start to digest it and then keep having more over time. Start with the proteins first, and then lead your way to carbs and then to sugar/sweets.

The date arrived and like clockwork, we arrived at the "crime" scene. We asked for our reserved seats and found out that the best seats, the ones with the furniture, were already reserved but one of them, near the entrance was empty. I denied it as I didn't want to sit by the entrance.


Iftar Time Arrives

Adhaan wasn't sounded throughout the restaurant like I had hoped, I watched the time online through Somoy TV live and broke the fast. Other people looked at us and started their feast.

IMG_6153.jpeg

We were served 3 Steak and Co.s, and with it came 3 sauces. I ordered my sirloin in medium but it wasn't exactly medium-rare, it was more of medium well than rare. But, the color of the steak was not too bad. Moreover, the steak was oozing out the sweet juices which covered the fried rice and other meaty goodnesses. I was not happy about my rice getting all soggy but it was okay, I'm a foodie after all.

IMG_6154.jpeg

They also included 2 dates instead of 1 date.

IMG_6155.jpeg

The 3 sauces we had were: Hollandaise, Pepper, and Mustard. Pepper went great with the steak, Hollandaise was fantastic since the steak was a bit chewy. The mushrooms were perfect, you could feel the buttery essence coming out of it, along with the huge chicken wings. Moreover., the shrimp were amazing and juicy; carefully crafted with spices and they went well with the fried rice.
The sausage was authentic. Its foreskin was a thin layer of meat, the insides were filled with crushed chicken.

IMG_6156.jpeg

And all that did not with a complementary icy cool water. I asked for some cold water but they ran out of it. So, I asked them to fill a cup with ice cubes, and keeping some water for a minute would be enough.

IMG_6157.jpeg

And, after eating for 30 minutes straight, I only finished about half of it. I couldn't yet go to the steak as the other meaty goodness required my attention. But, I didn't miss much of the steak's hotness. It was already a bit chewy from the get-go, so I decided to finish it in the end.

Took me 20 more minutes to finish... and the bill was insane. I believe that was the most amount of money I have paid in a restaurant by myself.


Time for some mandatory walk

IMG_6163.jpeg

Fortunately, there was a park nearby. It was at Gulshan which is not that far from Banani. It's called Shahbuddin Park and it spans over 9 acres.

IMG_6165.jpeg

After all this eating, I, along with my brother and cousin, had to walk to speed up the digestion process.
And, it was peaceful. Full of air and no pollution in the slightest. I wish I could go back there since this heatwave is one of the worst ongoing catastrophes.


“There is something in the nature of tea that leads us into a world of quiet contemplation.” – Lin Yutang


IMG_6167.jpeg

And what sort of Asian would we be if we didn't stop for tea? I had the "Rong cha" while my brothers had "dudh cha". As we walked around, I surmised the serenity to be outstanding as the gentle breeze navigated my cheeks.

Sort:  

What a cool place the dish look so rich!

Yess, the restaurant if famed throughout the city, and rightly so! I hope to visit again soon. The taste was divine too, you could feel the butter through the meaty delight.