Saran fish curry with Bengali spices!

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Hi Guys! I hope all of you are doing fine during this Global pandemic. It is a great news for foodies like me that #OCD announced another community boost contest and community of week for this contest is Foodies Bee Hive. So here I am writing this post to participate that contest. Wish me luck:)

What is the most favorite traditional food in my country?


I am from Bangladesh. Fish curry with rice is the most favorite traditional food in my country. Infact Bengali people are known as "Machh-e Bhat-e Bangali" which means, "Bengali by fish and rice". We do have a plenty of different types of fish. You will be surprised to know that Bangladesh has more than 700 rivers which are a great source of delicious fishes.

Fishing_Bangladesh.jpg

Fishing in Bangladesh

Saran fish curry with Bengali spices!


Currently, I am living in Serbia. Here I see only a few different types of fresh fish. Out of them, Saran(Carp fish) is my favorite fish. Though It is a bit complicated to prepare a fish dish, from time to time I can't resist preparing a delicious saran fish curry with Bengali spices. So, lets jump into the process and the ingredient needed.

Ingredients

  • Saran fish- 500gm
  • Tomatoes -250-300gm
  • Onion
  • Green chili pepper
  • Turmeric powder- 1 tea spoon
  • Coriander powder- 1 tea spoon
  • Chili powder- 1 tea spoon
  • Cumin powder- 1 tea spoon

20210505_130129.jpg

Marinated saran fish with turmeric and chili powder

20210505_122329.jpg

Process

  • First marinate the saran fish with turmeric and chili powder. You can add some salt with them as well. After 5-7 mins fry these Saran with oil.

20210505_130828.jpg

  • Fry them for7-10 mins till them turn into bit brown color.

20210505_130941.jpg

  • Once they are fried enough, keep them in a plate.

20210505_133150.jpg

  • Slice onion and green chili pepper with a sharp knife as shown in below pictures.

20210505_122653.jpg

  • Slice the tomatoes into small pieces as well.

20210505_122942.jpg

  • Now it is time to fry onion and green chili pepper with oil.

20210505_132735.jpg

  • Fry them for 2-3minutes with medium heat before mixing the mentioned(from ingredient list) spices.

20210505_133301.jpg

  • After cooking for another 2-3 minutes, add tomato slices.

20210505_133455.jpg

  • Cook them again for another 2-3 minutes with medium heat before adding fried saran fish.

20210505_133543.jpg

  • Cook them for another 8-10minutes with medium heat.
    20210505_134210.jpg

So that s how I cooked my saran curry with Bengali spices. It s really delicious especially for fish lovers :) I usually served them with white rice. It can be used as heavy meal like launch or early dinner.

20210505_135124.jpg

So that s it for now. Hope you will like this recipe and give it try :)

Sort:  

Good post bro. The fish looks yummy

I am glad that you liked it. I do follow your recipe time to time:)

Que belleza, si algo amo de #hive es la posibilidad de ver las culturas y costumbres de otros países, sin duda esa plato típico de pescado al curri te quedo genial.

What a beauty, if there is something I love about #hive is the possibility to see the cultures and customs of other countries, without a doubt that typical fish curry dish was great.

Yeah, cultural diversity in #hive is at its best:) I love to see different culture and way of living and cooking. Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations, that dish looks exquisite well seasoned.

Thanks :)

Que espectacular plato, me encanta el curry lo agrego mucho a mis comidas. Que hermosas fotografías ver el trabajo de la pesca. @apon318

What a spectacular dish, I love curry I add it a lot to my meals. What beautiful photographs to see the work of fishing. @apon318

Thank you. let me know your feedback after trying this meal :)

Hi apon318,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. I really appreciate your support :)

Fish is called Macha in Nepal but Rice sounds exactly same: Bhat. Fish curry is my favorite after chicken curry.

Glad that we have something common:)

Yes. Typically South Asian countries have many common dishes but it differs in ingredients and name🙂

Congratulations @apon318! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It looks simple but I bet it tastes delicious! and its the first time I heard about FISH CURRY! interesting!

And i like how straight forward and simple your writing is. Great job!

Its really delicious. Hope soon you will get an opportunity to taste fish curry. Thanka fpr your comment:)

Delicious recipe :D

Glad that you liked if:)

que deliciosa se ve el plato tradicional de tu país.muy buena presentación, saludos.