Chaseki: Growing Chiang Mai's Emerging Tea Culture

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

It is perhaps a hallmark of a truly evolved society when the lust for immediate caffeine hits and double espressos finally gives way to the aroma, health, elegance and subtlety of tea culture.

In 2002 when I first came to Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand, there WAS no coffee culture. None. Zip. Nada. You asked for a coffee in a decent restaurant and you got 3-in-1 instant. In 2005, our little juice bar, Vitality Zone just near Wat Phra Singh was one of the very first to offer fresh french-press coffee from organic, hand-roasted beans. FFWD to 2020, where EVERYone sells boutique coffee.

It still pains me that sooooo often I ask for tea, and all they have is Lipton. Urgh. I am delighted that is changing. Kenneth Rimdahl pioneered flavoured and forest-grown teas the last 5 years with Chiang Mai's Monsoon Tea and we have gorgeous local people running boutique businesses like the Araksa Tea Garden in Mae Taeng. Raming Tea House was the first to offer traditional English style teas and has always been a cool stylish cafe on Tapae Road - make sure you head out to their lovely garden out back after an afternoon's shopping.

So imagine my surprise to discover Chaseki - a newish, proper Japanese style tea shop in Chiang Mai's Old City - a delightful little haven offering SUPERB imported Japanese matcha teas and selling the delights and trimmings of Japanese tea culture. Well, that happy feeling suddenly exploded this last week. Their city tea shop has been doing so well (Covid19 notwithstanding) that Chaseki have opening their second large, luscious and gorgeously green location in Hang Dong, not far from the Grand Canyon Water Park and overlooking the beautiful foothills of Doi Kham. The idea of getting out of the house for some green space and green matcha on a hot Saturday afternoon was too appealing to resist, and so Miss 15 and I headed over to take a look.

First impressions? It's HUGE and airy and open-space and with LOTS of nooks and corners so that even when it's busy, you can feel relaxed and relatively private. And it was busy! They have 2 indoor air-conditioned seating areas overlooking the gardens.

Chaseki3.jpgImage credit JJ Greese

And a really nice COOL shaded outdoor seating area overlooking the koi pond. The sound of the waterfall is really relaxing on what was a hot afternoon.

Chaseki17 2.jpg

Chaseki7.jpgImage credit: JJ Greese.

I found some LOVELY old Thai daybeds in the garden and think this may well be my new hide-with-a-book-or-my-laptop place when the entrepreneurial 'thing' overwhelms. Felt like a princess.

Chaseki13 2.jpg

As a mom no longer having to worry about keeping Miss 15 safe and out of the carpark, I nevertheless really appreciated the huge, enclosed, safe garden for children - with play equipment.

Chaseki19 2.jpg

But back to the tea. The proprietors, JJ and her German husband, Tom, are very well educated about superb tea. Tom has lived in Japan for many years and studied tea, so this business is a labour of love, and it shows.

Chaseki9 2.jpg

Being a health-conscious person, I chose what is probably my new signature health drink: fresh young green coconut water with one of their imported Japanese matchas - no sugar, no nothing else. SUPERB!! My little cells sang happily to me the rest of the afternoon.

Chaseki10 2.jpg

Miss 15 chose the dark chocolate matcha frappe. And wow - it was really good too.

Chaseki12.jpg

Home made dark chocolate and matcha cake? I'm not a big cake lover or eater but this was GOOD. Really good. Not particularly sweet, beautifully moist and the flavours were awesome.

Chaseki11.jpg

Next time we go we're going to try their matcha gelato!

Chaseki4.jpgImage credit JJ Greese.

A word about the chocolate they use. Like us, they are partnered with local chocolate entrepreneurs, Siamaya Chocolate. So you can be confident their chocolate-matcha offerings are fair trade and organic. Yes, they have Siamaya Chocolate to take home too.

Chaseki21.jpg

Chaseki's city store (just a few doors down from the North Gate Jazz Co-op at Chang Phuak Gate) has gorgeous Japanese tea accessories and take home products - this being their first weekend, they're literally still setting up shop but I'm SURE that in the coming weeks the tea culture lovelies will be on sale here too. How busy was it? In the hour we lingered, we counted 67 other customers, which is WONDERFUL and such a good omen for things to come.

Tom advises in the coming weeks they will have BREAKFAST OPTIONS and they also have plans for a Japanese restaurant on site. Their opening hours, at present, are 10am to 7pm, daily.

In this post-Covid-19-over-regulated world, I loved that we could sit quietly, outside, with lots of space and clean air. They DO have the mandatory sign in process, as required by Thai law, but it was simple and low tech.

Chaseki14 2.jpg

Loads of onsite parking too.

Chaseki15 2.jpg

The politics of Covid-19 have penalised so many small businesses. What we know, being a small business ourselves, is that behind every small business is a family. We loved knowing that we were able to support Tom and JJ with our afternoon out - they are newly pregnant with their first child and were simply rushed off their feet.

Chaseki20 2.jpg

So if you're in Chiang Mai, or planning to be when flights resume, we'd commend Chaski to you. A chill place in a beautiful natural environment.

You can find them via googlemaps or their facebook page: Chaseki Tea HQ . I've also pinned them on the blockchain's own @pinmapple.

Feeling happy to enjoy the success of others - ready to offer support and hope to see you there for a coconut-matcha soon!


All images used in my posts are created and owned by myself, unless specifically sourced. If you wish to use my images or my content, please contact me.


Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 2.png



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for on Hive

Sort:  

Last year I visited my family in chiang mai...my family took me to one cafe shop at(สะเมิง) surrounded by trees and nature so beautiful.

Where are you from in Thailand @thaibenz? Bangkok? You have family here? We live in Mae Rim - in Baan Rim Tai, in the rice fields before the Samoeng Road turn off to Mae Sa Waterfall.

My daughter is luuk kreung. I apologize in advance that although I speak Thai pretty well, my writing is like anubaan 2. LOL 😆

That really looks like a nice place to spoil yourself 😘

Indeed it is!! Coconutwtare matcha when you visit! 😊

I'm sure it's a great place. maybe I will have a chance to visit one day. I like tea, but there is only one type in my country. I am curious about flavored teas. thanks for this great share. your photos are also very nice..

Where is your country, @hairofmedusa? The flavoured teas here have things like orange, cinnamon, peppermint and vanilla added. NOT my favourites. To me, a real tea lover likes PURE tea. There is SUCH a diversity of teas in the world - one of the most common beverages after water and so very healthful.

Happy Monday to you from here. I just love your smile 🥰

Happy Monday to you too, @sreypov - looking forward to a khmer recipe post from you this week. And an entry to the Tobacco Challenge which starts tomorrow. Tell us about tobacco and smoking it in Cambodia. ?? 😊

I’m sorry about that, I don’t know about it. I don’t like Tobacco, when person smoking it, I smell it, I feel like car sick. Thank you 🙏🏻

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #859.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I'm just drinking cold green tea with mint & wild rose buds & flowers while reading your article... I have never been to Thailand but I would like to see it once! Enjoy!

Only once? 🤣 Tea with mint and rosebuds sounds very elegant! 😍

Well, I don't if I would like it! 😉

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!

So much beer!! 🍺 Lucky it's really hot. 😆

Ahahhahahh, here some more !BEER 🍺


Hey @artemislives, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.