You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Face Masks & Tofu Rendang Style

I do miss me a good rendang - my father born and raised in Indonesia has given me a serious appreciation for it. I NEVER eat tofu (prefer to not support nasty GMMO industries and soy also blocks the uptake of zinc & disturbs thyroid function) but luckily its easy to get tempeh here, which is also very much more Indo style and something I grew up eating.

Hmmm.... feeling teh urge now for Tempeh Rendang and maybe some yummy Gado Gado. 😋

The mask thing? meh. It serves a practical purpose as all of Asia understands - no one would consider going out with a sniffle or a cold without one (and that was well before Covid). I don't like them but we do't go out much and it's too exhausting to always be in opposition to little things like that. It disempowers and exhausts us, which in turn makes us complacent and weary to oppose the REAL evils like mindless consumption, censorshp, greed, environmental destruction, racism, sexism and the desruction of a creative way of life.

Cook, garden, stay home and let the irritation about that shit go. You will feel better and be empowered to be creative and more effective.

Sort:  

Tempeh is also made out of soy. Am I missing something...?

Nice to see you out commenting @alchemage - welcome back. 😍

Tempeh isn't necessarily made from soy at all - it's just a type of fermenting. We use tempeh here in Thailand made from black beans or from chick peas. I grew up in Australia on home fermented indo style tempeh which was also usually made from the little black beans. My dad grew the beans in the garden and they're cheap and common in most south east asian countries.

Hope you're well.... 😊

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I love tempeh. Funnily enough though, I first had tofu rendang in Indo. I don't think anything in moderation is going to be an issue tbh.

Not sure you really get the whole mandatory mask thing here. It's a bit of a different situation than Asia. Mandatory mask wearing on a beach even if you are socially distant is ridiculous. And me being HSP, and suffering anxiety, wearing a mask is not a trivial or 'little' thing at all for me but something that paralysed my nervous system despite what techniques I've used to counter it. Good to see lots of people starting to understand not all people can comfortably wear one, even though they might try for fear of being misunderstood or wrongly judged by others.

We can oppose masks on a personal level and still not be complacent about other things that matter 😂😂😂

I "get" the mask thing far more than you can imagine, and we have had it here far more rigidly than Australia, and for much, much longer. I just choose not to give energy to it, or talk about it. And I focus on the world I want and am creating and let the rest of them do whatever without me. What we resist, persists.

There are so many tools for dealing with anxiety and stress and whatever else we choose to claim as 'ours" - the biggest one is the DESIRE to release them and not need to be defined by them.

In the great scheme of things I think wearing masks IS rather minor. I do it when it's absolutely required, and that's all. It makes sense on subways etc when people are sick, and in hospitals etc.

Staying home is the best plan if you're anxious and unable to cope, and simply avoid the types of places where they are required. You're lucky you have Jamie to shop etc for you.

I understand that masks have been worn in Asia countries for many years, I have witnessed it myself when in Malaysia and Thailand. But my understanding is that it is always wore by choice. Right now in Spain and in Australia people are getting fined and beaten up when they do not wear them, having people living in fear. I am not aware of that ever happening in Asia, not to my knowledge anyhow, please correct me if I am wrong!

I am all for people having the freedom, to choose what they wish to do and being respected for doing so. But now people have no choice and that is not right. The mask to me is symbolic and for that I do not wear one. I can not imagine what it must be like for some one with anxiety, having to wear one and I would never presume to do so. I have worked in mental health in the past and I can tell you that it is not something to take lightly.

Telling them to stay at home, is some what insensitive in my eyes,
when what we need to be doing is, embracing everyone for who they are and not telling them to hide away. This is mental heath awareness month after all. No one should feel excluded or alienated because they suffer with their mental health, that only adds to their anxiety.

Instead we should be spreading more awareness and
understanding,supporting one another, that is the best way in which we can move forward right now.
I do believe that we are going through a huge transition, so lets focus on becoming better people in the process, lets build one another up!

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for showing empathy - not everyone does. They think they know, but until you actually have been in that person's shoes, how can you REALLY know? It's not as if I haven't tried, even though I disagreed with teh use of the mask in ALL situations - ie. walking on the beach with hardly anyone around?? Are you kidding me? Sure, in a doctors surgery or busy supermarket. But it's kinda hypocritical - you dont need them on when you are eating, so you dont need them on at a cafe. And that's a busy place. What the???

My amygdala totally hijacks my rational mind when I wear one - I literally go into fight or flight. There's no amount of 'ignoring it' or 'not giving it attention' or 'sucking it up' that can change that, and no amount of meditation, contemplation, change of diet, counselling or anything else to deal with this anxiety can do about it. It's not as if I haven't tried - and I find people who condescend to say I'm being self indulgent or giving focus to something I 'shouldn't' quite unempathetic and lack understanding of what happens to my body when I put one on. There's a reason WHY our government allows exemptions for people like me, and the only people who can question me are the police, and that's fine.

And it's not as if the mask is the only thing I focus on - for the most part, it's not a distraction for my life, only something I won't participate in. There's also tons of other things wrong with it, as you know, including making connections to people. There's a time and a place for them, but blanket rules for man, woman, child across every situation and entire state is ludicrous. And I certainly won't stay home just because of it - that also means the bastards have won!