A Comfort Food After a Tiring Day: Ayam Penyet

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Hello, everyone. I hope you all are doing well and fine. It's been months since the last time I posted in my blog. I was in a really deep slump and hadn't been able to find joy in writing like I used to before, so I had a time off just to focus on myself for the last few months. And now I'm recovering and slowly getting better. I can finally have my motivation back to write again.

Does anyone here have their comfort food? The go-to food that you always crave whenever you're tired or feeling down. It's like an essential thing that can somehow make you feel better, after a long tiring day of work or school. It's like a blanket on rainy days, or a tylenol you take when your head hurts, it's always come in handy.

Well for me I do have a lot. Most of them are either sweet or spicy foods. I was having a rough day yesterday, so after I finished all my works and duty for the day I decided to buy one of my comfort foods, that is Ayam Penyet.

Ayam Penyet (translated to Indonesian as: smashed chicken) is an Indonesian's one of the most famous cuisine that consists of smashed fried chicken served with sambal (chilli sauce). It's a really common cuisine here that you can even find someone selling it in every corner of every places. I have many that is near my house but there's this one outlet that have the best sambal ayam penyet in my opinion.

It took only 5 minutes to get here using my motorcycle. If we go by walking it'd take maybe 10 minutes but people don't really walk here though, especially at night. It is a small outlet on the side of the road. Even though it's not that big, they still have enough room if we want to dine-in even though most people I saw prefer take-away.

They serve a big portion of ayam penyet here. When I first discovered the place I was taken a bit because the price is a little pricey than the usual but compared to the ones I've tried before, the chicken is a whole lot bigger and they also give us a lot more sambal so I think it's understandable and worth the price. A full package contains fried chicken, tofu, tempeh, sliced cucumber, cabbage, basil leaves, and lastly sambal.

I ordered one portion for me minus tofu and tempeh because you have to pay additional money if you want to include fried tofu and tempeh. I was only craving for the chicken so I didn't order those two. The owner took my order and fried the chicken and prepared the rest.

It didn't take long for them to prepare my order and since I was there pretty early I didn't have to wait for a long queue. There were a few people coming after I got there but I was lucky since my order was served first.


So this is what I ordered.

First we have a big fried chicken. This is a whole chicken leg. It has been seasoned and even though it may not look like one in the picture, it's pretty crunchy and juicy.

Next is the sambal. Every person who sell ayam penyet usually have their own sambal recipe so if you buy it from different places, one may not taste as good as the others. Its main ingredient is shrimp paste, and you can recognize it right away when you taste it. And this one is hands down one of the best sambal ayam penyet I have ever tried. It's spicy and it tastes really really good.

And to top it off, we have slices of cucumber, cabbage, and basil leaves. These are not garnish. You actually eat it with the fried chicken and sambal. It can also help when the sambal gets too spicy. They can also work to fresh your mouth from the greasiness.

Thank you for taking your time to read my post. I hope each one of you get to enjoy your own comfort food too when the day is hard or just when you feel like you want to for no reason. If you like it an upvote will be very much appreciated. Thank you!
Sort:  

Yeah, you're finally back sis. I also bought ayam penyet this afternoon and right, the sambal is what's special with it. Nice post.

Agree, we Indonesian just can't live without sambal I guess. Maybe we should go out and eat ayam penyet next time.

Glad to know you’re better now. :)

I hope you can be consistent again.

Yes, I'll get there eventually. :D

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Ayam penyet, salah satu masakan ayam kesukaanku

Mine too!

Congratulations @auliaarma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List