Cooking Kwetiau (Flat Rice Noodle Dish) For Iftar

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

KWETIAU (FLAT RICE NOODLE)
TRYING NEW DISH FOR TODAY'S IFTAR


Hello, everyone. It's been awhile since my last post and I'm welcoming you back to my new blog post.

It's the 23th day of Ramadhan and my family have cooked various dishes during the last few weeks. Today, I wanted to try cooking something new to be served on iftar.

IMG20210425173917.jpg

I was thinking about cooking spicy fried chicken as I've been craving for it for days but I realized I've been eating chicken a lot this Ramadhan so I tried looking for some simple recipes on Google instead. There were so many lists that are tempting to try but at the end I decided to go for Kwetiau (pronounced: Kway Teow), stir fried flat rice noodle dish that is well known in Indonesia.

It has been awhile since I tried this so I was really excited to finally cook Kwetiau again.




Kwetiau needs a certain basic seasoning for when you cook it. This can be different for each individual but this time for me, I made it from garlic, red onion, ginger, chili pepper, and green cayenne pepper mixed as one.

You can always exclude both chili or green cayenne pepper if you don't want your kwetiau to be spicy. Anyway, I mixed all of them using a blending machine.

I also added a decent amount of salt and flavor enhancer into it.


I prepared spring onion, celery and onions cut into thin slices to be added into the seasoning I cooked earlier. This is to add more flavor to your kwetiau.

These ingredients will also make the kwetiau smells really good. It almost got me drooling when doing this step because of how good it smells.


And finally, I'm adding the three main characters of this kwetiau in with the rest of the ingredients. The three are flat rice noodles, mustard greens, and meatballs that I cut into half. All of them looked really pretty when mixed together and I was really having fun in taking the photos from so many angles.

Though I ended up using a kinda basic looking one just because it shows the kwetiau better than the others.

Mustard green and meatballs can be substituted by others such as meat, chicken, crab, and different vegetables for the mustard green but I'm using these two because they are my personal favorite that I'd love to add to the kwetiau.

I was contemplating between meatballs and sausage and almost ended up using both of them but I saved the sausages for the midnight snack.

Another recommendation, I think soy or oyster sauce would also tastes good for your kwetiau. I didn't use them for today's cooking because I didn't have any at the time but if you'd love to add them, you can adjust the amount you're gonna put in to your likings and it's gonna taste really good.




Here is the final look of my kwetiau!

From what I know, kwetiau is usually served as a side dish but serving it as main dish wouldn't be weird either. You can also eat them with rice for Iftar or suhoor or just usual meal.

I didn't get to check whether I put the right amount of salt into it or not as I was fasting when cooking it but I'm glad I did put just enough. And I'm proud of myself for cooking such delicious dish today!




Thank you for reading my post. I wish you a very amazing day/night ahead!

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @auliaarma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is my fav noodle dish. When I got sick, my mom always cooks this type of noodle for me. You made me craving at night for sure.

I also started craving for it again when I write the post. Truly one of the best noodle dish!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png