Filipino Food Photography - Kwek-kwek by @benisnice

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

When I went to manila to attend college, I thought everything about it is exciting. Freedom, Independence, I'll be handling my finances with more flexibility. I can buy the books immediately. Its such a liberating thing that the province can't offer.

Though not everything is glamorous as it was, After my classes, I have to buy my food or cook my food. I need to wash my uniform every week. I was a one man team with myself.

When it comes to finances, its all covered cause I grew up that way , It is a priority that I dont use my money in idle things but of course I learned another thing, Adopting and getting along with others, I mean am I used with being alone most of the time, cause I grew up that way too as I am the only child in the family but I need to get along with my dorm mates and the people around me.

I will not forget, I cant remember the other details but my another dorm mate, my cousin and I went outside to eat for dinner. I even asked the magic words "San tayo kakain" and their magic answer "Hindi ko alam"- which is a routine then all a of a sudden both of them said that they dont have enough money for a proper dinner, If I am not mistaken this happened in an almost end of the week. So its understandable, My cousin even asked "San napunta ang pera ko". and I dont know if she is talking to us or she's talking to herself. (Though I answered her in my head: sa milktea). I asked how much money they have and my dorm mate told me that she only got 25 pesos. And so I told them why dont we buy kwek kwek cause for 25 she can buy a lot at hindi sila magugutom. (They have a big appetite). Although my cousin vomited afterwards

So thats the reason why kwek kwek becomes our official food for broke. Even up until now, we tend to laugh at the memories of our eating bonanzas and that kwek-kwek incident is one of the most memorable.

Not everything about manila is good but the food and the memories are worth it.

We visited some of our favorite kwek-kwek stands and I was happy that they are still around midst the pandemic. This is the nearest to our place and the basic meriendahan and tambayan ng mga estudyante. But even up until now they are here with lots of customers and I can imagine that it might be that someone out there bought kwek-kwek as a food of salvation the same way as we did back then. I just hope they also laugh at it the same way as we did.
Thats all thank you!

10.png

11.png

12.png

13.png

Sort:  

Nakakamniss ang mga ganitong pagkain, ginutom tuloy ako. Magandang hapon kabayan.