You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DOLMADES - AND PRESERVING VINE LEAVES

we grew up, outside the City of Boston, on the East Coast US. My Yia Yia (Greek Grabdmother) would scream and make my dad stop the car, whenever she saw Grape Leaves growing, didnt matter if it was a small road, or major highway. We picked and picked, and then, later, she would make Dolmades. Mind you, at times she was making a dozen huge trays of 50 or more grape leaf rolls. Whether for the Church, or big family functions, she was always baking. AND in her backyard, my Papou (Grandfather) grew a huge Grape Leaf trellis.

Sort:  

What a special memory! Minus the screaming part ;) I think it is the old folk who know the recipes and the history behind them that we should learn from. I bet your Yia Yia made the best dolmades. I lived in the US back in the 90's. About an hour from Boston in Georgetown MA. Beautiful part of the world

Ahhh, Georgetown!I have a Craft Fair I do in Nov. selling my photography around the corner, in Newbury! Plus I am in Rowley, or Plum Island at least once a month fomr some photo trips! It is INDEED a Beautiful part of the world!