Crème Caramel

IMG_1238 (2).JPG

It was a long anticipated dinner party - nothing fancy actually - just your typical South African braai. Because I have a reputation for delicious and healthy baking we were also invited to bring dessert. We suddenly have a glut of goats milk with the bumper crop of kids born. Our free roaming chickens are also giving us plenty of wonderful eggs. Fresh goats milk. Organic eggs. Equals = Crème Caramel

This is a dessert that always seems so extravagant it must be complicated. But; no. It is surprisingly easy as long as you don't burn the sugar. Just almost burn it.

IMG_1169 (1).JPG

And yes - for those of you who know my dislike of all things sugar - you read correctly. I made a dessert with sugar! I have yet to find a working alternative for the caramel part of Crème Caramel that isn't sugar. So here goes:

IMG_1170 (1).JPG

CARAMEL (part of Crème Caramel):
1 Cup Sugar
1/4 cup

Once the sugar and water is in the pot you need it to be wet but not pouring water. Keep the pot on a medium heat. Do not stir. You may swirl if necessary. Don't leave the pot unattended. The sugar takes about 10 minutes to caramelize. But it happens very suddenly so don't let it burn - although it may seem almost burned.

IMG_1172 (1).JPG

Immediately pour your caramel into a deep pyrex dish. Swirl it gently to coat the bottom and sides a little. Then set aside to cool.

IMG_1175 (1).JPG

CUSTARD (part of Crème Caramel):
1 litre Goats Milk (or any milk you prefer)
6 eggs
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla essence

IMG_1179 (1).JPG

Using your caramelized pot, slowly heat the litre of milk and tablespoon of sugar. While heating the milk beat your eggs and vanilla. You'll also need to boil a kettle of water as the Crème Caramel must bake in a bath.

IMG_1181 (1).JPG

Once hot but not boiling, remove the milk from the heat. Beat the egg mix and slowly drizzle the hot milk into the eggs. Then pour your custard into the pyrex dish over the caramel. Carefully place the custard in your boiling water bath.

IMG_1186.JPG

Bake at 160 C for 45 minutes. Then allow to cool thoroughly before placing in the fridge. You should allow it to set overnight. In the morning use a knife to loosen the edges.

IMG_1213.JPG

And this is the tricky part. Carefully place a large slightly scooped dish over the pyrex bowl and with a swift but firm motion - FLIP!

IMG_1226 (1).JPG

This baked custard - flan - certainly looks and tastes like food for royals! Crème Caramel is the perfect way to end a very special meal. Bon appetit!

IMG_1231 (1).JPG

Sort:  

Hey there Buck, if you can make cheesecake I will be most impressed lolz.

Best wishes from the Garden Route.

Oh? How did you know? That's on this weekend's menu. What you've missed in old posts is that I make the cream cheese AND milk the cow for the cream before I can make the cheesecake......watch this space

Oh? How did you know? That's on this weekend's menu. What you've missed in old posts is that I make the cream cheese AND milk the cow for the cream before I can make the cheesecake......watch this space

Wow that sounds heavenly. 😄

I love cooking & baking AND all things sweet🙈 AND I love Creme Caramel but believe it or not, I've still not baked my own!
Seeing your step by step method and the excellent result has me thinking that we've not had dessert for a long while AND that it's high time I attempt this one.
I've never tasted goat's milk, is it richer?
Have a wonderful week, guess what I'll be making this week😋

Goats milk tastes like skimmed milk. The lactose is more digestible than cow's milk which is why so many lactose intolerant people can drink goat milk.
Happy baking!

It looks like the "flan" we have in Spain. I have never made it by myself though
Your one looks just perfect!!

Thank you. It's really easy and so delicious

I like it, and yes, now I see it is not that difficult to prepare it.
But I repeat, your one looks perfect! 😎

My mom used to do something very similar a lot during my childhood. I so miss those times! But maybe I should give it a try in my own kitchen especially that it's quick and easy to be prepared :)

So happy memories! I hope yours is just like your mom's

Delicioso en mi país 😋 hacemos un postre parecido le llamamos Quesillo

Ongelukkig kan ek glad nie verstaan wat jy skryf nie. Maar dankie vir jou woorde @alegnairam

My friend, I like the taste of caramel very much. You posted this delicious post. Thank you. I have a question for you. My posts are not supported much. Can you explain the reason to me by reviewing them? Thank you.

Saludos... este postre es definitivamente delicioso, pero nunca lo he hecho con leche de cabra, tengo intentarlo

Ongelukkig kan ek glad nie verstaan wat jy skryf nie. Maar dankie vir jou woorde @mayrao05

I have never seen this but it look good and yummy thanks for sharing

Thank you for reading