You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CATASTROPHIC COOKING

Palm fronds?!! Now that is interesting. Thank you for sharing. We can use those as back up.

It's wonderful that you also have the experience of cooking in a pizza oven. There's no looking back for me. I think this is the new solution. The only draw back is there's no impulsive cooking. Tell me, have you ever baked sourdough rusks? I'm tempted to try

Sort:  

Palm fronds?!!

Indeed! They do not make anything that resembles a coal, but they produce enormous amounts of heat. So I preheat the oven with loads of palm fronds and resort to wood when I start the pizza.

The only draw back is there's no impulsive cooking.

Right! It takes so much planning and prepping and to utilize the oven and all the stored heat, you need to cook loads of food or bake loads of stuff.

Tell me, have you ever baked sourdough rusks? I'm tempted to try

Nope, but have also been tempted for a couple of months by the idea. I want to try two things: Sourdough rusks fermenting the dough like normal, and one in which I ferment the flour fully and then only add it when I completely ferment the flour (I think 72 hours or so). Obviously, the latter will be much sourer, but I am interested in seeing if it works with all the sourness.

I have dried out some sourdough bread, as I think this is the most authentic type of ancient rusks?? But they were a complete fail haha. The texture was way too chewy and not crumbly like normal rusks.

Oh yes! I remember that you mentioned not to long ago wanting to try the rusks. And with the discard? My quick recipe with discard (I hate throwing away) is to make flapjacks. My family now refuse to eat sourdough flapjacks

Why are they refusing to eat it? Are you making it too often? 😅

Oh, you should totally try scallion pancakes! Take sourdough discard and add scallions, chives, green onions, anything in that line, and make thicker style pancakes. The sourness and the scallions create an awesome savory taste! Yum, now I am hungry haha.

I will either write up something in the future or hopefully remember to let you know how the sourdough rusks went 😅

Yup. Something like that. Let's just say it was on the menu more than once or twice a week. But that scallion pancake.....hmmmm....now that sounds like a winner!

I used this guy's recipe if you'd like to take a look:

Oh yum!! Thanks