TIRAMISU CHOCOLATE CAKE

IMG_7678.JPG

"What's your favourite cake?" My youngest asked.
"Chocolate"; my husband said confidentally
"No. Cheesecake." My eldest smiled.
"Actually it's tiramisu - although technically tiramisu is not a cake".
The children looked confused.
"Then why do you always make chocolate cake? Or cheesecake?" From the husband who was not going to be proven wrong.
"Because, tiramisu is the best of both cakes!" I smiled coyly. "Wonderful chocolate and coffee in one. Delicious cream and cheese that goes into the other. Combined! In each bite!
Three expectant faces stared at me. I could almost read their minds. And so I baked. But not just any cake. One unique to my never-follow-the-recipe style. I baked the moist chocolate cake. However, instead of any chocolate topping I made a tiramisu topping. It was beyond my wildest cake imaginings.

IMG_7642.JPG

Traditionally tiramisu includes ladyfingers dipped in a rum infused espresso. Then layered with a creamy, sweetened mascarpone and egg topping.You can, of course substitute the rum for amaretto or brandy - or ditch the alcohol altogether. I also ditch the sugar and substitute it for honey as a far healthier option.

IMG_7643.JPG

The creamed Tiramisu topping is as follows:
500g mascarpone (I use my goats milk cream cheese)
3 eggs, separated
100ml honey
dash of vanilla
pinch salt
sprinkle of cacao powder
1 double tot brandy (optional)

Whisk the 3 egg whites with a pinch of salt. It needs to be firm and can take a few minutes to whisk. Separately; beat the egg yolks.

IMG_7646.JPG

Add vanilla, honey and brandy to the egg yolks and beat well. Then slowly add in the mascarpone until creamy.

IMG_7647.JPG

Fold the firm egg white into the yolk mix. It should be a delightfully smooth golden colour.

IMG_7648.JPG

Instead of using espresso dipped ladyfingers I halved the moist chocolate cake I had already baked and chilled.

IMG_7650.JPG

Spread a generous layer of tiramisu topping between the chocolate cake halves to make a sandwich. Then spread the rest of the tiramisu topping on the top of the cake.

IMG_7663.JPG

Lastly dust a thick layer of cacao powder over the top. It is best to refrigerate overnight or at least for a couple hours to set.

IMG_7669.JPG

Famously an Italian dessert with all sorts of dubious origins; Tiramisu, (tireme su) means 'pick me up' in the Treviso dialect. Which explains the alcoholic and caffeine combination in this incredibly decadent and undeniably delicious cake. Ummm....dessert. Either way. My tiramisu chocolate cake is by far the most scrumptious of all the cakes I regularly bake for my family. And it was made as an early birthday cake for my Mom! This delicious creation had all the flavours of Italy. Bon appetito fellow cake lovers!!

IMG_7674.JPG

Sort:  

Great... Wonderfully tasty it must be!

It should be the type of cake served with a strong cappucino in one of your delightful cafes!

Definitely! I haven't found anything that looks this good.

Ah....thank you. Presentation is (almost) everything

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nice 🙂
Enjoy 😊

Congratulations @buckaroobaby! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

This sounds DIVINE!!!! I want some - now - immediately!! hahahaha

You know I'm totally with you. I am actually not a desert or cake person but Tiramisu is THE desert. And your recipe with a chocolate cake - OMG - I better not show this to my hubby.

I bet your tiramisu cake was gone in a heartbeat.