Gwote Acha/Fonio porridge

in Foodies Bee Hive10 months ago (edited)

My first encounter with this dish was in February 2017. At the time, I wasn't particularly fond of the taste, as it came across as somewhat bland. However, a friend of mine enlightened me about its traditional preparation, which involves omitting salt. I respect this culinary tradition. Despite not being completely taken by the flavor, I couldn't help but appreciate the essence of the dish.

I've always had a penchant for exploring culinary offerings from different cultures, regardless of how unfamiliar they are to me 😁.

Fast forward two years to 2019, and a colleague of mine took on the task of preparing the same dish, and it left me utterly astounded! She decided to venture beyond the usual and add her own creative flair to the recipe.

Now, in 2023, I've made up my mind to craft this evidently wholesome dish. When I inquired with my husband if he'd be interested in trying "gwote," he responded with a resounding refusal (lol). I hold no grudges, though, as I can only imagine he must have had his own not-so-pleasant experience with gwote in the past.

To the wonderful people of the Plateau region, please pardon me if I haven't captured the essence of the recipe perfectly. Gwote is truly something special! Sending my affection to all 😍.

*** Ingredients***

Acha
Cabbage
Tomatoes
Red bell pepper
Green bell pepper
Onions
Spring onions
leaves Sorrel
cubes Seasoning
Chicken (or any protein of your choice)
Chili peppers
Salt
Groundnuts (raw)
Crayfish

Cooking Instructions
Step 1
Wash and chop your vegetables

Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe, step 1, photo
Step 2
Roughly pound the groundnut.
Pound or grind the crayfish

Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe, step 2, photo
Step 3
Season and cook your chicken. I already had cooked chicken with some leftover stock so I moved on to the next step

Step 4
Bring the stock to a boil. Add crayfish and groundnuts and leave to boil
Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe, step 4, photo

Step 5
Add the peppers, onions and cabbage (add carrots too if you added it to your vegetables)
Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe, step 5, photo

Step 6
Pour in your washed Acha (I bought mine already destoned and washed, so I only gave it a quick rinse). PS: Acha swells when cooked so just a little quantity will go a long way. Also, keep water handy so as to lighten the consistency if it gets too thick. Keep stirring from time to time to avoid it clumping together.
Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe step 6 photo

Step 7
Taste and adjust salt and seasoning where necessary. Cover and leave to cook for about 10minutes.

Step 8
Add the remaining vegetables: sorrel leaves and spring onions. Cover and leave to cook for some more minutes
Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe step 8 photo

Step 9
Serve!
Gwote (Acha/Fonio porridge) recipe step 9 photo

Sort:  

Source of potential text plagiarism

Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others' work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered fraud. Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.
Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.