Herbal Pesto ~ food and medicine combined

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago (edited)

When you think pesto you think basil right?

The combination of basil leaves, toasted walnuts, olive oil and grated cheese is classic - and delicious - but definitely not the only possible ingredients needed to make this delicious paste.

20240117_114801.jpg

I make pesto year round where basil is in season or not. Instead of relying on a single herb, I like to included many and think of my herbal pesto as much a medicine as a condiment.

Over the years I have been cultivating a garden of perennial herbs like rosemary, sage, oregano and thyme each of these herbs is available pretty much all year and contain a myriad of health benefits.

tumblr_cae6d7bf13adfb41a489eeee8b99af84_bcb4cded_1280.jpg

Rosemary is a circulatory tonic and can help strengthen the heart while simultaneously reducing high blood pressure. Oregano helps fight parasitic growth in the digestive tract. Sage helps get rid of congestion and can help menopausal women deal with the discomfort of hot flashes. All three are digestive aids that can help promote healthy digestion. And all three are very tasty when combined with basil which I also grow in the garden although only during the summer months.

Around mid morning, when I do the bulk of my meal prep for the day, I go out to collect a basket full of the herbs I will need. Although it is not totally necessary, I also like to have about a half a cup of seeds or nuts soaking since the previous night as the soaking of seeds make them easier to digest. With my herbs and nuts/seeds in hand I am ready to prepare the pesto ~

20210528_115254.jpg

Herbal Pesto Recipe ~

This recipe is meant to be flexible. Today I have these four above mentioned herbs and sesame seeds ... other days I may have dandelion greens, parsley, garlic, and walnuts. The idea is to work with the herbs in season and to your liking. In other words, as long as you go with the general proportions of oil to plant to nuts you should feel free to add and subtract to this recipe. I am sure it will turn out great!

The first step is to process the seeds of nuts. These could be walnuts, pecans, sesame, or pine nuts -- I always recommend soaking the seeds in water the night before then toasting in the oven or on a cask iron skillet right before preparing the rest of the ingredients. In total this should be about a 1/2 cup of seeds or nuts.

With the seeds toasted, next comes the chopping and blending of the fresh ingredients. At the moment I have a blender which works just fine but a food processor would be even better.

  • 2 cups chopped herbs ~ for example, mostly basil, then some combination of oregano, sage, rosemary, thyme, mint, parsley (etc.)
  • 3 chopped garlic cloves (optional)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Balsamic Vinegar or lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Then slowly add the dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup nuts or seeds
  • (optional) 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese ~ I love cheese but usually don't add it to pesto as I sometimes share this with lactose intolerant friends and family. The herbs are so flavorful you don't really need the cheese, in my opinion.

Scoop the pesto out of the blender and into a jar. I tend to use a jar as we are only two people and usually eat this pesto throughout a few meals. The pesto must be stored in the fridge between uses and you can certainly double, triple, quadruple this recipe and make a few containers to freeze also.

20240117_114358.jpg

Last night and again this morning my partner and I shared a plate of herbal pesto on top of little cassava flour rolls. It was truly delicious and I hope you give this recipe a try with the herbs of your choice.

Sort:  

Actually, I've always made garlic scape pesto to use medicinally. And it's never had any type of nuts, mostly because I never had any when I first started making it...

But I was aware pesto can be any type of herb or green...

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Now I know what to do to finish my herbs. That would be divine I am sure.

Thanks for the inspiration.

Yay! I am so glad to share some inspiration -- I am sure your herbal pesto will turn out great.

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thank you for curating <3

Beautiful food! I love your point of seeing it as food and medicine, true, I never thought of it that way:)

Thanks so much! many of the spices we add to food are medicinal! and with a little research and practice we can be incorporating even more medicine into our meals by preparing condiments with intention. I appreciate the comment!

Indeed, I started to pay some attention to it... and I really like that approach of yours, I might give it a go to pay even more attention to:)
...I guess it always comes more naturally if you have a garden or an abundance of fresh food, even though this isn't an excuse not to always focus on it, in which ever situation!:) - thank you, for the inspiration!

When I listen to the word pesto, I think of basil immediately. That's true even for me who keeps homemade cilantro and parsley pesto in my freezer all year round, besides basil pesto. You're fresh herbal pesto looks delicious and ideal to spread on toast or crackers. I love to mix it with yogurt to go with steamed vegetables 😁

I love those baskets full of fresh herbs from your garden. Have a great day ❤️

That is amazing to hear that you make cilantro and parsley pesto and have them handy all year. Right now I don't have a freezer but, in the next couple of years will get one and fill it with pesto!

The idea about yogurt with steamed vegetables is great -- I will certainly be borrowing that. Thanks so much for your comment and the information you shared!

I have found that having a freezer is really useful. Perhaps you can find a way to vacuum seal your pesto in glass jars.

Have a great day and enjoy your delicious pesto!

Yummy! Looks and sounds delicious. I have only ever made pesto with burning nettles but I will keep this versatile recipe in mind.

💚

Making pesto with nettles is great! I am glad to hear that you are getting creative with your pesto. Maybe next time you can add a couple other herbs to the nettles and see how it goes.

That’s so much information in one post.
Thank you so much
There’s nothing better than consuming food that serves as medicine too!

Yes I totally agree! There are so many possibilities to create healing meals when we capture the power of herbs. Thanks for your nice comment, as always!