THAT UNUSUAL AND QUIRKY SOUVENIR I ALWAYS BUY EVERYTIME I GO TO OLANGGO ISLAND.

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Hi Hive!πŸ€—
What is the most interesting souvenir that you ever bought on one of your island vacations?
A keychain? An island t-shirt? Or a handcrafted little object with the name of the island carved on them? 😎


Buying "pasalubong" or souvenirs during travel is as exciting as traveling itself. Though some souvenirs could be very costly on our wallets not because of their price but because of the bulk and the number of souvenirs you will have to buy because you are aware that there are a lot of people waiting for you to come home (insert family members, friends, and some relativesπŸ˜…) and excitedly waiting for the gifts/souvenirs that you have for them.

png_20220923_194710_0000.png

So today, I am sharing one of my favorite moments when it comes to buying souvenirs, and this happened, always happens every time I visit the small and beautiful island of Olanggo.


First, What and Where is Olanggo Island?

Olanggo Island is one of the famous 7 small islands of Lapu-Lapu and is known mainly for its wildlife and marine sanctuary. It is 12-15 minutes only away from Lapu-Lapu City by boat. Aside from its beautiful eco-tourism and white sand beaches, the fare going to the island is also very cheap making it so inviting and attractive to all tourists. With this, many would love to go to the island multiple times to escape the bustling life of the city. I'm not living in the city, but count me in! πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ

Screenshot_2022-09-23-18-42-14-62_3d9111e2d3171bf4882369f490c087b4.jpg
A screenshot from Google Map.

I'm from the Northern part of the Province surrounded by lush trees, hills, and mountains, no wonder I love to visit Olanggo Island for a different spectacle. Hehe. How I wish the reason is as simple as that, but NO! Olanggo Island has been part of the important pauses and breaths I need to have in my life.

IMG_20220923_184713.jpg

FB_IMG_1663911970101.jpg

I went to Olanggo Island multiple times already. On each of my visits, I have different reasons, moods, and different emotional states. If Olanggo Island could speak, it probably would say, "What is it this time Smile?"πŸ˜… I may have different reasons to visit and enjoy Olanggo Island, or sometimes no reason at all, but there is always one good thing I bring after my visit. I always bring my soothed and relaxed self and of course the most interesting - I always bring with me the unusual and quirky souvenir I always buy on the Island, that one bottle of Ginamos.

What is "GINAMOS"? πŸ˜‹

"GINAMOS" is a fermented salted fish placed inside a closed container, usually a bottle. This is very famous in the Philippines especially in the Visayas. To make Ginamos, one should clean the small fish properly and mix them with salt, then ferment them for at least 2 weeks inside a container.

FB_IMG_1663885295255.jpg
The Ginamos I always buy in Olanggo

FB_IMG_1663931008865.jpg
Photo of Ginamos downloaded from E and E Online Shop FB account

In the province, we paired this with cooked unripe Banana, Sweet Potato, or boiled Cassava or sometimes we eat it with rice! Ginamos is best when paired with Hot Chili and Vinegar! Ssshhhrrrlll. Its color varies on how someone prepared to ferment the fish. Sometimes, it's grey or dark grey and sometimes it is white. Its taste also varies, from salty to saltier to saltiest but surely you will taste the juice of the fish.πŸ˜ƒ

IMG_20220923_190910.png
Photo of my students about to partake the Steamed Banana paired with Ginamos (Fermented Salted Fish)

The white Ginamos is my favorite. Unfortunately, the white one is not common in my place. It's rare to find White Ginamos too in our local market. You can only find White Ginamos on some islands. One time I went to Olanggo, that was where I found the tasty White Ginamos! The Ginamos that I always come back to.πŸ˜ƒ


The buying of Souvenir: GINAMOS MY LOVE.πŸ˜ƒ

It was a lovely day that I finally caught on site the local who was selling White Ginamos at the port. My friend Rose, a resident in Olanggo, told me where can I directly buy the Ginamos on the island but that is if I'd be lucky enough to buy some stocks. The bagoong is always sold out! Moreover, she added that I'd be luckier enough to buy the Ginamos at the port if there are still some stocks left!

FB_IMG_1663885267934.jpg

There are a few times that I have been searching the displays stretching my neck like a giraffe just to find the vendor and ended up with nothing.

FB_IMG_1663885276301.jpg

Luckily, on one of my trips, I finally caught up with the vendor. She was sitting on the side of the road with her basket filled with the island's delicacy and the ! Huhu. Finally! I hurriedly went to the vendor, and my eyes glimmered with excitement when I saw the shiny bottle of Ginamos, the souvenir that I have been wanting for so long. πŸ€—πŸ™

FB_IMG_1663885287903.jpg

I bought 3 bottles! My family liked it so much. They love the taste and how neatly prepared it is! There are times my family would jokingly say, when will I ever go back to Olanggo because they miss the Ginamos.! Haha!


Here are some of my travels to Olanggo which I always ended up buying my favorite White Ginamos as pasalubong.**

A. To Marine Sanctuary.

This travel of mine to Olanggo Island was together with my gay friend, Obet. We went there to enjoy the different tourist attractions of the island. We went to the bird sanctuary, and the mangroves, and ended up feeding the fishes in the sea. We rented a boat and paid a boatman to bring us to the middle of the sea of Olanggo. We enjoyed floating on the sea and watching the Coral Reefs and the colorful fishes swimming beneath the boat.

FB_IMG_1663913462194.jpg

B. Camping Time

This time, I went camping at the Eco-Tourism Park of Olanggo Island. I badly needed a "Me-time" during this moment of my life to weigh, reflect and sort some things out. This was when I had a crisis in my relationship with my old-time boyfriend (ex). Haha. I am grateful for this time that I was able to see my worth and value.

IMG_20220923_191823.jpg

C. Fiesta Time

This was the happiest of all my travels in Olanggo. I stayed at my friend's house in Sta. Rosa Orlando. She invited me to witness their very unique festival in the Barangay (I am not sure if it's for the whole island), it's the Binaliw Festival. This time was a pure celebration of what life has given me. (Sorry, I couldnt retrieve my photos on this travel of mine, its on my old phone and its broken.)

D. Adventure Time

There was also a time that I went to Olanggo and walk across a hip-deep sea just to get to Gilutungan Islet. The islet was where my best friend was assigned to teach in a public school. Hopefully, I will be able to retrieve my photos on this adventure so that I could share them here.

FB_IMG_1663911974836.jpg


That's it! Have a blast Hive.πŸ€—

Sort: Β 


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ginas plus saba, perfect kaayo hahaha

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Oh wow thanks @diyhub and @priyanarc !.😍 This means a lot.😍

Welcome...

Hey there πŸ˜ƒ. I see you had a lovely time at Olanggo Island. It's a beautiful place and your pictures display them well. I love to buy souvenirs too whenever I travel though it's been a while I went on a trip

Ginamos look like what we call crayfish in my country. They are tiny bits of little fishes, shrimps and other sea animals. Nice. Thanks for sharing.

Oohhhh Hi @ladytitan ! 😍

Wow you have Ginamos too in your country? Thats nice.☺️ How does it taste there?

Yeah, I always enjoy my time to the fullest in Olanggo. I just love this little Island.😍

Thanks @ladytitan for swinging by. Enjoy your day. Good morning from the Philippines
😍

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Thanks @hivebuzz .πŸ€—

You're welcome @callmesmile! Have a nice day πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸŒΉ

Dear @callmesmile,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Hi @arcange, I honestly don't have any ideas on application Developer.πŸ˜… But I see you as "the Man" who works for the best of Hive and so I expressed my support for this.☺️

I cast my support already. May this project be successful for the BEST of Hive.☺️

Thank you for your kind words and your support @callmesmile, really appreciate it! ❀️

You're always welcome @arcange .πŸ€—